HHS baseball awards 2013

web base

Special to the Chickasaw Journal

HOUSTON – The Houston Hilltoppers finished up a successful season on the diamond and capped it off with the annual awards banquet May 20.
The Toppers wrapped the season at 25-7-1 in the second round of playoffs.
“This season was magical,” said Coach Scott Gann. “It almost didn’t even happen, if Lousiville wins one game at the end of the season versus Kosciusko. But we were blessed enough and worked hard enough to make a really awesome run in the postseason.”
Gann credited his six seniors with determination and leadership.
“They will all go on to do great things in the future,” Gann said. “I am very blessed and privileged to have been a part of this season with this great group of kids.”

Award winners include:
Team Captain – Peyton Callahan
MVP – Peyton Callahan
JV MVP – Denver McQuary
Best Starting Pitcher – Kyle Wilson
Best Relief Pitcher – Sharone Wright (repeat award winner from 2012 and 2010)
Cody Gravat Best Defensive Infielder award – Peyton Callahan
Best Defensive Outfielder – Austin Burdine
Hustle award – Blake Johns (repeat winner from 2012 and 2011)
Highest Scholastic Average – Peyton Callahan, 96.75
Highest Batting Average – Austin Burdine, .396
Silver Slugger award – Austin Burdine and Kody Kimbrough, .521
Luke Smith Memorial award – Kyle Wilson

All-Division 4-4A
Voted by division coaches
Kyle Wilson, Kody Kimbrough and Peyton Callahan

Voted by coaches in the NEMS Coaches Association
Kyle Wilson, Kody Kimbrough and Peyton Callahan

NWCC signeee, Kody Kimbrough, joining former Toppers Brennan Pugh and Will Faulkner

MS Delta CC signee, Peyton Callahan, joining former Topper Danny Springer

Offers from Holmes CC and MS Delta CC, Kyle Wilson