4-2A division awards

Division 4-2A was loaded with hard-hitting teams and versatile athletes this season, making division awards a tough choice for local coaches.
But they have weeded through their rosters and made their selections for the Super 24 and All Region teams.
Heading up the list as Player of the Year is Donta Armstrong of Bruce while Jacolbi Heard of Okolona was tapped as Offensive Player of the Year. Cartin McBride of Calhoun City got the nod as Defensive Player of the year.
From the readership area, Okolona had three players listed on the Super 24 team, four on the first team and three honorable mentions.
East Webster High School had five players named to the Super 24 and three on the first team.
Calhoun City, the division champions, pulled in seven players on the Super 24 and seven on the first team, while Bruce had five on the Super 24 and five on the first team. Eupora listed six players on the Super 24 and six on the first team.
The Chieftains compiled a record of 5-5, 2-2, losing in the first round of playoffs to West Bolivar.
“Our kids put in a lot of hard work, both on and off the field,” said Okolona coach Jack Clark. “They showed lots of leadership and were play makers on Friday nights.”
East Webster had a perfect 6-0 fun before hitting division play and ended 6-4, 0-4.
“I was very proud of the kids that were chosen All Division,” said East Webster coach Dough Wilson. “It was an awesome group of kids to choose from. To be recognized by the talented teams we competed against was truly an honor.”
Clark agreed the division was saturated with athletes, making for a “murderer’s row” down the home stretch.
“It’s a big honor in a division that was a tough as ours,” Clark said.
Calhoun City was the only team in 2-4A left standing at North Half and lost to Bassfield Dec. 6 in the State Championship game.

Super 24 Team
Player of the Year
Donta Armstrong, Bruce
Offensive Player of the Year
Jacolbi Heard, Okolona
Defensive Player of the Year
Cartin McBride, Calhoun City
Jordan England, Calhoun City
Tyler Jones, Eupora; Brock Fleming, East Webser
Latrius Powell, East Webster; Tanner Bailey, Calhoun City
Tight End
Will Bowen, Eupora
Trey Pittman, Eupora
Running Backs
Jay Johnson, Bruce; Dequin Babbitt, Okolona
Wide Receivers
Levarious Varnado, Calhoun City; McKinley Hollenhead, East Webster
Justin Lewis, Eupora
Defensive Tackles
Jamar Brown, Bruce; Jay Collins, Okolona
Defensive Ends
Andrikus Ezell, Calhoun City; Frank Elam, Eupora
Inside Linebackers
Pat Gardner, Bruce; Shaquille Wright, Calhoun City
Outside Linebackers
Steele Liles, Calhoun City; John Wofford Williams, East Webser
D.J. Glaspie, Bruce; Brieton Sykes, Calhoun City
Jalen Embry, Eupora
Tyler Cosby, East Webster
Coaching Staff
Calhoun City

All Region First Team
Calhoun City
Chakel Gates, Travon Petty, James Hervey, Noah Hill, Keshun Bobo, Clint Wolfe, Chris Easley
Lamonte Salley, Beau Smith, Walter Meek, Jarqes McBride, Tamarus Draine, Javoris Draine
Tabias Campbell, Bailey Nix, Tyler Donavon, Jadarrius Benson, Latrell Marks
Terry Rogers, J.C. Buchanan, Rod Jones, Robert Herron
East Webster
Deangelo Liggins, Tyler Doss, Colby Williamson

Honorable Mention
Zach McGee, Josh Ford, Curtis Greenweb foot division