Houston recognizes 2014 scholars

Houston High School Special Honors graduates are shown at the schools awards ceremony Tuesday, May 20 at the high school auditorium. Shown are Kristen Black, from left, Becky Rinehart, Beth Rinehart, Koby Hill, Kaitlyn O'Barr and Cameron Byrne. (Floyd Ingram / Buy at photos.chickasawjournal.com)

Houston High School Special Honors graduates are shown at the schools awards ceremony Tuesday, May 20 at the high school auditorium. Shown are Kristen Black, from left, Becky Rinehart, Beth Rinehart, Koby Hill, Kaitlyn O’Barr and Cameron Byrne. (Floyd Ingram / Buy at photos.chickasawjournal.com)

HOUSTON – The ACT (American College Testing) is an exam that measures a students readiness to take college classes and is considered a fair measure of a person’s knowledge of English, math, social studies and science.

Thirty-three is considered a perfect score.

The Houston High School Class of 2014 had one student score a 33 and six others score 30 or above and they were honored at the May 20 Houston High School Awards Ceremony in the Houston High School Auditorium

“I have watched these kids since they were in kindergarten and some have taken their education seriously,” said Houston Superintendent Dr. Steve Coker. “The seven students whose name I am about to read have taken their education seriously.”

Coker pointed out all colleges in Mississippi and most around the country offer full scholarships to students who score 30 or above on the ACT.

“I am glad we give awards for good grades,” said Coker. “Every scholarship given tonight has been earned and is important. Your parents, your school and your community are proud of you.”

Students who scored 30 or above on the ACT were:

• Cameron Byrne (33)

• Johnny Allen

• Liza Boyer (Junior)

• Koby Hill

• Kristen Marsh

• Kaitlyn O’Barr

Awards and scholarships given out to the 99 member student body graduating from Houston High School this spring were:

BancorpSouth Academic Achievement Award:

First Year – Liza Boyer, Madison Bishop, Charlesie Allen, Casey Mitchell, Zach White, Paige Griffin, Chassidy Mitchem, Stephanie Hernandez, Walt Harrington.

Second Year – Kristen Marsh, Taylor Brand, Kaitlynn Hardin, Dianna Bedolla, Hannah Grimes, Kristen Black, Anna Claire Edwards, Koby Hill.

Third Year – Cameron Byrne, Becky Rinehart, Jocelyn Rodriguez, Beth Rinehart and Kaitlyn O’Barr.


Houston High School Subject Awards:

English – Cameron Byrne.

Math – Cameron Byrne.

Science – Kristen Black.

Social Studies – Beth Rinehart.

French 1 and 2 – Karli Ching, Becky Rinehart, Beth Rinehart.

Latin – Kristen Marsh.

Art 1 – Dianna Bedolla.

Art 2 and 3 – Cameron Byrne.

Culinary Food Technology 2 – David Ching.


Vocational Awards and Scholarships:

DECA – Jessica Langston-Verrell, Cheyenne Free, Brandon Jones.

Ag Science – Chapman Boyer, T’lecia Foard, Cody Myers, Timothy Paden.

Auto Mechanics – Thomas Allison, Johnny Allen, Shevon Atkinson, Jimmy Bishop, Kaleb Clark, Justin Hayes, Nicholas Jernigan, Richard Kimble, Rayshawn Mcregory, Xavier Moore, Devin Murphy, Timothy Paden, Antonio Parker, Trey Tucker, Vandess Walker, Colin Weaver.

Business & Computer Technology – Paige Griffin.

Furniture Manufacturing – Chris Reynolds.

Culinary Arts – Deanna Belk, Alexis Cooper, Javen Farr, Cheyenne Free, LaShari Free, Amber Frison, Shalexis Isbell, Amberneeka Johnson, Deondra Johnson, Taquailla May, Trey Tucker, Mark White, Jordan Woodhouse.

Health Science – Demarcus Echoles, Keria McPherson, Alexis Smith, Michelle Vazquez.

Electricity – JaVonta McIntosh, Chase Eldridge, Kristen Black.

College Goal Sunday – Chasity Mitchem, Paige Griffin.


Scholarship Recognition:

Paire Griffin – Delta State University cheer-leading scholarship .

Josie Anderson – Meridian Community College softball scholarship.

Walt Harrington – Meridian Community College tennis scholarship.

Brooke Anderson – Robert P. Chase scholarship.

Austin Burdine – Mississippi Delta Community College baseball scholarship, academic scholarship and Bronze Congressional Medal.

Alexis Smith – Miss Teen Eliza Pillar Nursing scholarship.

Alexis Cooper – James “Otis” Mosley scholarship.

Chapman Boyer – National FFA scholarship.

David Ching – Hinds Community College ACT scholarship.

Karli Ching – Mississippi University for Women ACT scholarship.


American Citizenship Awards – Beth Rinehart, Walt Harrington.

Outstanding BETA Award – Liza Boyer.

Anchor of the Year Award – Anna Claire Edwards, Kaitlyn O’Barr.

STAR Student – Cameron Byrne.

STAR Teacher – Mr. Jerry Hamilton.

Simpson-Vickery Scholarship – Ashley Conner (Full), Antonio Parker (1 Year).

VFW Voice of Democracy Award – Christine Cook

VFW Patriot Pen Youth Essay – Cody Voyles

VFW Teacher Awards — Sonya Kirby, Kathy Spencer and Vicky Callahan.

American Legion Medal – Alexis Smith, Walt Harrington.

Ashley Gunnels Extra Effort Award – Antonio Parker.

Woodmen of the World Award – Kristen Marsh.

Hall of Fame Award – Kaitlyn O’Barr, Walt Harrington.

MFCA Student Tuition Scholarships – Stephanie Hernandez.

Itawamba Community College – Thomas Allison, Brooke Anderson, Cristin Cook, Wes Craig, Alissa Eaton, Damarcus Echoles, Anna Claire Edwards, T’Lecia Foard, Cheyenne Free, Dillon Harrison, Stephanie Hernandez, Amberneeka Johnson, Keria McPherson, Devin Murphy, Laura Nichols, Kaitlyn O’Barr, Victoria O’Barr, Austin Reeves, Jocelyn Rodriguez, Alexis Smith, Michelle Vazquez, Hannah Welch, LaDarrius Yates, LaTarrius Yates.

Northeast Community College – Brooke Anderson, Karli Ching, Ashley Conner, Monica Dobbs, Jonathan Eldridge, Chelsea Gates, Dillon Harrison, Richard Kimble, Taylor Lancaster, Jocelyn Rodriguez, Cole Wooten.

Blue Mountain College – Becky Rinehart, Beth Rinehart.

Mississippi State University – Johnny Allen, Koby Hill, Zachary White.

University of Mississippi – LaDarrius Yates, LaTarrius Yates, Kristen Black.

Spring Hill College – Cameron Byrne.

Exchange Club Student of the Year – Stephanie Hernandez.

FANTastic Scholarship – Ashley Conner.

Chickasaw County Farm Bureau Scholarship – Laura Beth Nichols.

Franklin Scholarship – Zachary White.

Pilot Club Gertrude Woods Scholarship – Anna Claire Edwards.

Todd Hardin Memorial Leadership Scholarship – Paige Griffin.

Wal-Mart Scholarship – Dillon Harrison.

Carole Jean Stovall Memorial Scholarship – Paige Griffin.

One Body by AJ Most Improved Student Scholarship – Laura Beth Nichols, Ashley Conner, Chapman Boyer.

Heroines of Jericho Court 123 Scholarship – Allison Robinson.

Chickasaw Journal Citizenship Scholarship – Rebekah Rinehart.

MSU Alumni Association Scholarship – Tony Parker, Xavier Moore.

Mississippi Organ Recovery Agency Scholarship – Kaitlyn O’Barr, Laura Beth Nichols.

Pepsi Scholarship – Cristin Cook, Wes Craig.

Benjamin Neal Sr., Education and Motivation Award – Keria McPherson.

Elise Mobley Memorial Scholarship – Paige Griffin.

Houston Memorial Funeral Home Scholarship – Kaitlyn O’Barr.

Chuquatonchee Chapter of the DAR Scholarship – Beth Rinehart.


Honor Graduates:

Honors – David Ching, Cristin Cook, Carley Hood, Xavier Moore, Brooke Anderson, Chasity Mitchem, Walt Harrington, Stephanie Hernandez, Allison Robinson, Jordon Nichols, Victoria O’Barr, Laura Beth Nichols, Zach White, Karli Ching, Johnny Allen, Austin Reeves, Paige Griffin, Anna Claire Edwards, Jocelyn Rodriguez.

Special Honors – Kristen Black, Koby Hill, Dillon Harrison, Becky Rinehart, Kaitlyn O’Barr, Beth Rinehart, Cameron Byrne.


, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  • smithjasmine

    Timely ideas , I loved the details . Does someone know where my company
    might be able to get access to a template CG 20 37 copy to edit ?

    • Lahoma Stapleton

      Hi smithjasmine. I got ahold of a template CG 20 37 version at this site http://goo.gl/2x3rCM