NCWW recognizes scholar athletes

The newly released 2013-14 MACJC Academic All-State Team includes 30 Northwest Mississippi Community College student-athletes, good enough for third-best in the league among 15 member schools.
Northwest’s academic all-state selections have increased the past four years from 17 to 19 to 26 to 30.
To qualify, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade-point average of 3.25, have completed three full-time semesters of college work (45 hours) and competed in at least one season of a varsity sport.
Earning individual honors from baseball were Domenick Carlini (3.45), Will Faulkner (3.85), Kramer Hollenbach (3.35), James Lear (3.38), Brennan Pugh (3.90), Jake Austin Smith (3.43), Jay Tidwell (3.57) and Peyton Willoughby (3.42).
The soccer teams had a total of 11 represented, including Emily Castoria (3.59), Rachel Elkins (3.56), Bree Francis (3.49), Peter Geraci (3.59), Jason Farmer (3.36), Robert Kaufman (3.25), Ashlee Rogers (4.00), Taylor Thevenot (3.89), Emily Williams (3.29), Alex Young (3.84) and Kristin Young (3.75).
For the softball team, Roxanna Kimes (3.28), Drennan Nemnich (3.73), Lindsey Shaw (3.36), Haley Vance (3.44) and Katelyn Westbrook (3.35) earned recognition on the team.
Hannah Switzer, also a 2014 Capital One Academic All-District nod, (4.00), Ashley Roberson (3.70), Randi Robison (3.70) and Hannah Waldrip (3.64) represented the women’s tennis team.
Men’s golf and women’s basketball had one selection in Martin Powell (3.36) and Leah Lytle (3.74).
Northwest had six student-athletes named Distinguished Academic All-State (3.8 or better) in Faulkner, Pugh, Rogers, Switzer, Thevenot and A. Young.Faulkner Pugh