MHSAA reclassifications announced


Special to the Chickasaw Journal

The Mississippi High School Activities Association executive committee last week approved the reclassification and division moves for the 2017-19 school years.

The new alignment are based on high school student population and both Houston and Okolona moved down a division. Okolona dropped from 2A to 1A and Houston dropped from 4A to 3A in football and basketball.

Spring sports – baseball, softball, tennis, track and golf – are typically announced by MHSAA in January and typically, but not always, follow changes made with fall sports.

The move will bring some district games closer to Houston. Houston football led District 4, 4A most of this season and is expected to fair well in 3A.

Noxubee and Louisville are gone from Houston’s schedule as are Carthage and Leake Central. Okolona goes from six district games to a possible eight in Division 1, 1A.

One of the biggest football moves up will be Mooreville, which jumped from 3A to 4A.

Mooreville will join Amory, Caledonia, Itawamba AHS, Pontotoc and Shannon in Division 2-4A.

Notes of interest

• In football, Oxford’s move to 6A puts the Chargers in Division 1 with Tupelo, Columbus, DeSoto Central, Hernando, Horn Lake, South Panola and Southaven.

• Lafayette’s move to 5A puts the Commodores in Division 1 with Saltillo, West Point, Center Hill, Grenada, Lake Cormorant, Lewisburg and former 6A member Olive Branch.

• The move up to 3A lands Mantachie in Division 1 with Alcorn Central, Belmont, Booneville, Kossuth and North Pontotoc.

• Houston, which dropped from 4A to 3A, moved closer to home in Division 4 with Aberdeen, Choctaw County, Hatley, Nettleton and South Pontotoc.

• Tupelo Christian Prep returns to Division 1-1A after playing two seasons as an independent.

• New Site, which was in Division 1-3A this season, will be an independent for two years.

• Two 1A schools, Hamilton and Vardaman, were moved to the South in Division 3. Teams in the division include Ethel, French Camp, Nanih Waiya and West Lowndes.

• In basketball, New Site dropped from 3A to Division 1-2A with Baldwyn, East Union, Ingomar, Strayhorn and Walnut.

• Tupelo’s Division 2-6A opponents will be Oxford, Columbus and South Panola.

• In slow-pitch softball, the MHSAA has gone to three classes. Class I is for 1A and 2A schools, Class II for 3A and 4A, Class III for 5A and 6A. Classes 5A and 6A had already been combined the last two seasons.



(Divisions that include area teams)


Division 1

Ashland, Biggersville, Falkner, H. W. Byers, Okolona, Potts Camp, Smithville, Thrasher, Tupelo Christian

Division 3

Ethel, French Camp, Hamilton, Leake County, Nanih Waiya, Noxapater, Sebastopol, Vardaman, West Lowndes


Division 1

Baldwyn, Bruce, East Union, Stayhorn, Walnut

Division 2

Calhoun City, East Webster, Eupora, Leflore County, Winona


Division 1

Alcorn Central, Belmont, Booneville, Kossuth, Mantachie, North Pontotoc

Division 2

Coahoma AHS, Holly Springs, Independence, M. S. Palmer, North Panola, Water Valley

Division 4

Aberdeen, Choctaw County, Hatley, Houston, Nettleton, South Pontotoc


Division 1

Byhalia, Corinth, New Albany, Ripley, Sentatobia, Tishomingo County

Division 2

Amory, Caledonia, Itawamba AHS, Mooreville, Pontotoc, Shannon


Division 1

Center Hill, Grenada, Lafayette, Lake Cormorant, Lewisburg, Olive Branch, Saltillo, West Point


Division 1

Columbus, DeSoto Central, Hernando, Horn Lake, Oxford, South Panola, Southaven, Tupelo

Division 2

Clinton, Greenville, Madison Central, Murrah, Northwest Rankin, Provine, Starkville, Warren Central

, , , , , , , , , , , ,