Tara Harris named Tupelo Teacher of the Year

Thomas Street Elementary gifted teacher Tara Harris was named the Tupelo School District’s Teacher of the Year on Tuesday night.

The 14th-year teacher is National Board Certified, having received the certification in 2003 and renewed it in 2012. She also played large role in the Arts Integration Initiative at Pierce Street and later at Thomas Street.

“Every day is new,” the Tupelo native said of her profession. “I like the flexibility. I love the children. I love the education process. I love seeing the light bulb go off when they learn something.”

Harris was honored as well as the teacher of the year winners for each of the district’s 12 schools. The Association for Excellence in Education presented each of them with a $250 check. Harris received $1,000 from the non-profit organization created to support the school district.

Below are the individual school winners:


Individual Teacher of the Year winners for Tupelo schools:

Carver: Wanda Mitchell

ECEC: Melinda Lee

Joyner: Allison Hall

Lawhon: Terry Leigh Clayton

Lawndale: Debbie Walls

Milam: Patsy Griffin

Parkway: Katie Michael

Pierce St.: Cathy Enis

Rankin: Kashauna Pittman

Thomas St.: Tara Harris

Tupelo High: Margaret Rowland

Tupelo Middle: Sam McRae