Banks Nominated for Conerly Trophy

MSU senior cornerback Johnthan Banks is one of the 10 nominees for the Conerly Trophy, it was announced today. The award is given annually to the state’s top college football player. The winner will be announced Nov. 27 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in Jackson.

Banks, who starred at East Webster High School, is tied for fourth on the team with 51 tackles, and he’s tied with Darius Slay for the team lead in interceptions with four. Banks has 16 career interceptions, which is tied with Walt Harris for the most in school history. He also has six pass break-ups, 2.0 tackles-for-loss, a quarterback hurry, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

Southern Miss quarterback Austin Davis won the award last season. The last MSU player to win it was linebacker Chris White in 2010, and four Bulldogs have won the award since its inception in 1996.

Each college football program in the state is represented on the finalists’ ballot. Here’s the full list, alphabetically.

 CB Johnthan Banks, MSU

• OL Cornelius Brown, Alcorn State

• LB Jamie Collins, USM

• OL Kendall Hunter, Delta State

• QB Garrett Pinciotti, Millsaps

• WR Rico Richardson, Jackson State

• DT Robert Simpson, Mississippi Valley State

• DB Keith Villafranco, Mississippi College

• QB Bo Wallace, Ole Miss

• CB/KR Isiah Wiley, Belhaven

I am the online content coordinator for I also co-host The Memo and Prep Rally podcasts and host the Newsbreak program. Previously at the Journal, I covered Mississippi State athletics (2008-13), high schools (2004-08), and was on the copy desk (2002-04).

Posted in Football Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers