SEC Baseball Tournament Expands to 12 Teams, Alters Format

The SEC has altered the format for its annual baseball tournament and expanded the field for the second consecutive year. The event, held every year at Hoover (Ala.) Metropolitan Stadium, will expand from 10 to 12 teams for the 2013 season. It went from eight to 10 last year. The SEC is now a 14-member league with this year’s additions of Missouri and Texas A&M.

The top four teams – including the two division winners – will get first-round byes, with the possibility of drawing another bye later in the tourney. Teams seeded 5 through 12 will play a single-elimination format on the tournament’s first day (Tuesday, May 21), and then it will revert to double-elimination. It will go back to single-elimination on Saturday. After the division winners, 10 at-large teams will be selected based on SEC winning percentage.

MSU won the SEC Tournament last season, winning five times in six days. It beat Vanderbilt 3-0 in the championship game.

Here is what the 2013 tournament bracket looks like:

Tuesday, May 21

Game 1                                9:30 a.m.              #6 Seed vs. #11 Seed [TBA TV]

Game 2                                TBD                        #7 Seed vs. #10 Seed [TBA TV]

Game 3                                4:30 p.m.             #8 Seed vs. #9 Seed [TBA TV]

Game 4                                TBD                        #5 Seed vs. #12 Seed [TBA TV]

Wednesday, May 22

Game 5                                9:30 a.m.              #3 Seed vs. Winner Game 1 [TBA TV]

Game 6                                TBD                        #2 Seed vs. Winner Game 2 [TBA TV]

Game 7                                4:30 p.m.             #1 Seed vs. Winner Game 3 [TBA TV]

Game 8                                TBD                        #4 Seed vs. Winner Game 4 [TBA TV]

Thursday, May 23

Game 9                                9:30 a.m.              Loser Game 5 vs. Loser Game 6 [TBA TV]

Game 10                              TBD                        Loser Game 7 vs. Loser Game 8 [TBA TV]

Game 11                              4:30 p.m.             Winner Game 5 vs. Winner Game 6 [TBA TV]

Game 12                              TBD                        Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 8 [TBA TV]

Friday, May 24

Game 13                              3:00 p.m.             Winner Game 9 vs. Loser Game 11 [TBA TV]

Game 14                              TBD                        Winner Game 10 vs. Loser 12 [TBA TV]

Saturday, May 25

Game 15                              Noon                     Winner Game 13 vs. Winner Game 11 [TBA TV]

Game 16                              TBD                        Winner Game 14 vs. Winner Game 12 [TBA TV]

Sunday, May 26

Game 17                              TBD                        Winner Game 15 vs. Winner Game 16 [TBA TV]

I am the online content coordinator for I also co-host The Memo and Prep Rally podcasts and host the Newsbreak program. Previously at the Journal, I covered Mississippi State athletics (2008-13), high schools (2004-08), and was on the copy desk (2002-04).

Posted in Baseball Tagged with: , , , ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers