Jackson wins first ever Hull Trophy

Gabe Jackson

Gabe Jackson

STARKVILLE – Mississippi State senior left guard Gabe Jackson became the first recipient of the Kent Hull Trophy which will be given annually to the top offensive lineman in Mississippi.

Jackson will be given the award during the C Spire Conerly Trophy banquet Tuesday night at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in Jackson. The 6-foot-4, 340-pounder from Liberty is also the Bulldogs finalist for the Conerly Trophy as well.

“It’s such an honor to be named the top offensive linemen in the state, and for the award to be named in honor of a Mississippi State guy is even more special,” Jackson said in a release from the university. “But I really have to give credit to my teammates and coaches. It’s all about team, and everyone works together to make sure we get better each day. That’s what has made this place special since I’ve been here.”

The Hull Trophy is named for former MSU and Buffalo Bills standout center Kent Hull, who passed away in 2011. Hull lettered for the Bulldogs from 1979-82 before spending 13 years in the USFL and NFL leading the Bills to four straight Super Bowl Appearances.

Jackson has graded out as a champion (80-percent or higher) in every game for State this season and has not allowed a sack. He has earned three SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week awards and is the only lineman in the league to win the award multiple times this fall.

“Gabe is the reason coaches come to work every day,” said MSU offensive line coach John Hevesy in a statement. “In five years with Gabe, there has never been a moment he hasn’t given me and Mississippi State everything he has to give. He has worked relentlessly to become a great player. There is no doubt he is one of the best offensive linemen in the country and very deserving to be the first recipient of the Kent Hull Award. You are going to see a lot more of Gabe Jackson on Sundays.”

The Hull Award is picked by a panel of former professional scouts, former college players and former college coaches including Hall of Famers Tom Goode, Jim Carmody and Hamp Cook.

Belhaven senior guard Matt Hall and Ole Miss freshman tackle Laremy Tunsil were finalists for the award.

“Gabe has been a special player from the first day he stepped on campus,” MSU coach Dan Mullen said in a statement. “Every day at practice, he gives us everything we ask of him and more. He never takes a day, off and he always strives to get better. I can’t imagine anyone more deserving of this award than Gabe. He’s certainly earned every recognition he gets.”

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers