Jackson earns first team All-SEC


Gabe Jackson

Gabe Jackson

The accolades continue to come in for Mississippi State senior guard Gabe Jackson.

Jackson was named first team All-SEC by the Associated Press on Monday and was the only Bulldog represented on the first or second teams.

The 6-foot-4, 340-pounder has also earned the C-Spire Conerly and Kent Hull Awards. Jackson was named SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week three times during the year and was the only player to receive multiple awards.

Jackson graded out as a champion (80-percent or better) in every contest as a senior and did not allow a sack.

The Liberty native earned All-SEC honors all four seasons at MSU. Jackson was also named to the first team in 2012 and a second team selection as a sophomore. He was on the SEC All-Freshman team in 2010.

Fellow Bulldogs – senior safety Nickoe Whitley and freshman defensive lineman Chris Jones – received honorable mentions for the All-SEC defensive team.


Tre Mason, Auburn

Michael Sam, Missouri

Gus Malzahn, Auburn

Alex Collins, Arkansas


WR Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt, 6-3, 205, Sr.

WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M, 6-5, 225, So.

L Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State, 6-4, 340, Sr. 

L Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama, 6-6, 310, Jr.

L Jake Matthews, Texas A&M, 6-5, 305, Sr.

L t-Justin Britt, Missouri, 6-6, 315, Sr.

L t-Greg Robinson, Auburn, 6-5, 320, So.

L t-Anthony Steen, Alabama, 6-3, 309, Sr.

C Travis Swanson, Arkansas, 6-5, 315, Sr.

QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, 6-1, 210, So.

RB u-Tre Mason, Auburn, 5-10, 205, Jr.

RB Jeremy Hill, LSU, 6-2, 235, So.

K Marshall Morgan, Georgia, 6-3, 200, So.

All-Purpose Odell Beckham Jr., LSU, 6-0, 193, Jr.

E u-Michael Sam, Missouri, 6-2, 255, Sr.

E Dee Ford, Auburn, 6-2, 240, Sr.

T Kelcy Quarles, South Carolin, 6-4, 298, Jr.

E t-Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, 6-6, 274, Jr.

E t-Kony Ealy, Missouri, 6-5, 275, Jr.

LB u-C.J. Mosley, Alabama, 6-2, 232, Sr.

LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia, 6-2, 232, Jr.

LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, 6-2, 243, Jr.

CB E.J. Gaines, Missouri, 5-11, 195, Sr.

CB Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida, 5-11, 192, Fr.

S Cody Prewitt, Mississippi, 6-2, 220, Jr.

S Kenny Ladler, Vanderbilt, 6-1, 205, Sr.

P Cody Mandell, Alabama, 6-3, 213, Sr.




WR Jarvis Landry, LSU, 6-1, 195, Jr.

WR Dorial Green-Beckham, Missouri, 6-6, 225, So.

L Ja’Waun James, Tennessee, 6-6, 316, Sr.

L t-Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt, 6-5, 295, Sr.

L t-Antonio Richardson, Tennessee, 6-6, 327, Jr.

L t-Laremy Tunsil, Mississippi, 6-5, 315, Fr.

L t-Trai Turner, LSU, 6-3, 316, So.

C Reese Dismukes, Auburn, 6-3, 297, Jr.

TE t-Evan Engram, Mississippi, 6-3, 217, Fr.

TE t-Hunter Henry, Arkansas, 6-6, 250, Fr.

TE t-C.J. Uzomah, Auburn, 6-4, 258, Jr.

QB Aaron Murray, Georgia, 6-1, 208, Sr.

RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama, 6-2, 218, So.

RB t-Todd Gurley, Georgia, 6-1, 232, So.

RB t-Mike Davis, South Carolina, 5-9, 215, So.

K Zach Hocker, Arkansas, 6-0, 191, Sr.

All-Purpose Christion Jones, Alabama, 5-11, 185, Jr.

E Alvin Dupree, Kentucky, 6-4, 252, Jr.

T Anthony Johnson, LSU, 6-3, 294, Jr.

E Dante Fowler Jr., Florida, 6-3, 266, So.

LB Avery Williamson, Kentucky, 6-1, 238, Sr.

LB t-Lamin Barrow, LSU, 6-23, 232, Sr.

LB t-Serderius Bryant, Mississppi, 5-9, 215, Jr.

LB t-Trey DePriest, Alabama, 6-2, 245, Jr.

LB t-Sharrod Golightly, South Carolina, 5-10, 195, Jr.

LB t-Denzel Nkemdiche, Mississippi, 5-11, 207, So.

LB t-Andrew Wilson, Missouri, 6-3, 240, So.

CB Andre Hal, Vanderbilt, 6-0, 186, Sr.

CB t-Chris Davis, Auburn, 5-11, 200, Sr.

CB t-Victor Hampton, South Carolina, 5-10, 202, Jr.

CB t-Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida, 6-0, 190, Jr.

S Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama, 6-1, 208, Jr.
S Landon Collins, Alabama, 6-0, 215, So.

P Drew Kaser, Texas A&M, 6-3, 205, So.

(u-unanimous selection; t-tied at a position)


Nick Marshall, QB, Auburn, 6-1, 210, Jr.; AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama, 6-4, 214, Sr.; Zach Mettenberger, QB, LSU, 6-5, 235, Sr.


Steven Clark, P, Auburn, 6-5, 230, Sr.; Ego Ferguson, T, LSU, 6-3, 309, Jr.; Markus Golden, E, Missouri, 6-3, 260, Jr.; Brandon Ivory, T, Alabama, 6-4, 310, Jr.; Chris Jones, T, Mississippi St., 6-5, 305, Fr.; Craig Loston, S, LSU, 6-2, 209, Sr.; Michael Palardy, P, Tennessee, 5-11, 185, Sr.; Vinnie Sunseri, S, Alabama, 6-0, 210, Jr.; Robenson Therezie, S, Auburn, 5-9, 204, Jr.; Nickoe Whitley, S, Mississippi St., 6-1, 205, Sr.; Gabe Wright, T, Auburn, 6-3, 296, Jr.

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with: , ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers