Coaches tab three Bulldogs for All-SEC team

Gabe Jackson

Gabe Jackson

Three members of Mississippi State’s football team were named All-SEC selections by the league’s coaches on Tuesday.

Senior offensive guard Gabe Jackson was the Bulldogs lone first team selection while junior tight end Malcolm Johnson and senior safety Nickoe Whitley earned second team honors.

“All three are very deserving,” said MSU coach Dan Mullen in a statement from the university. “They give us relentless effort each day, and that has resulted in their excellent play on the field.”

Jackson was also a first team All-SEC selection by the Associated Press on Monday and has started every game of his college career, which is the most active streak in college football. The 6-foot-4, 340-pounder from Liberty earned SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week on three occasions this year and won both the C Spire Conerly and Kent Hull Trophies last week as the state’s top collegiate football player and offensive lineman respectively.

Nickoe Whitley

Nickoe Whitley

Whitley was an honorable mention on the AP All-SEC team was the Co-Defensive Player of the Week during the final week of the regular season. The 6-foot-1, 210-pounder from Jackson currently leads the country with 15 career interceptions to go along with 229 career tackles. He made 55 stops, one tackle for loss, two pass breakups, forced two fumbles, recovered a fumble and led the team with five interceptions on the year.

Johnson was third on the team in receptions during the regular season hauling in 29 passes for 378 yards and a touchdown. The 6-foot-2, 235-pounder from Tuscaloosa, Ala., was named as the John Mackey Tight End of the Week following the Kentucky game. Johnson has made 50 catches in his career for 755 yards and six touchdowns.


Malcolm Johnson

Malcolm Johnson

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.


2013 Football All-SEC Teams (* – ties)

First Team All-SEC

TE –  Arthur Lynch, Georgia

OL –  Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama
Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt

C –    Reese Dismukes, Auburn

WR –  Mike Evans, Texas A&M
Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt

QB –  Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

RB –  Tre Mason, Auburn
T.J. Yeldon, Alabama

AP –  Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU

DL –  Michael Sam, Missouri
Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
Dee Ford, Auburn
Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina

LB –  C.J. Mosley, Alabama
Ramik Wilson, Georgia
A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

DB – Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss
Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama
E.J. Gaines, Missouri
Vernon Hargreaves, Florida

PK – Marshall Morgan, Georgia

P –  Drew Kaser, Texas A&M

RS –  Christion Jones, Alabama *
Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU *

Second Team All-SEC

TE – Malcolm Johnson, Mississippi State  

OL – La’el Collins, LSU
Antonio Richardson, Tennessee
Justin Britt, Missouri
Anthony Steen, Alabama

C –  Travis Swanson, Arkansas

WR – Odell Beckham, Jr., LSU
Jarvis Landry, LSU

QB –  AJ McCarron, Alabama

RB –  Mike Davis, South Carolina
Jeremy Hill, LSU

AP –  Marcus Murphy, Missouri

DL –  Anthony Johnson, LSU
Chris Smith, Arkansas
Ed Stinson, Alabama
Trey Flowers, Arkansas

LB –  Lamin Barrow, LSU
Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
Avery Williamson, Kentucky

DB – Andre Hal, Vanderbilt
Chris Davis, Auburn
Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State
Kenny Ladler, Vanderbilt

PK –
  Michael Palardy, Tennessee

P –  Cody Mandell, Alabama

RS –  Solomon Patton, Florida

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with: , ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers