Holder, Mitchell on Stopper of the Year watch list

Jonathan Holder

Jonathan Holder

Mississippi State juniors Jonathan Holder and Ross Mitchell are among 50 preseason relievers named to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Associate watch list for Stopper of the Year Award.

The award is given annually to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I.

Holder went 2-0 in 34 appearances for the Bulldogs last season maintaining a 1.65 earned run average. He set a MSU single-season record with 21 saves while fanning 90 batters in 54.2 innings of work.

Holder, a Preseason All-American, is 23 saves shy of tying UC-Irvine’s Blair Erickson for the all-time NCAA career saves record. State is a perfect 80-0 when leading after the eighth inning since Holder’s arrival.

Mitchell, also a Preseason All-American, was 13-0 in 34 relief appearances last season with a 1.53 ERA logging 94 innings. He is 16-0 for his career with a 1.43 ERA.

Six SEC players were on the Stopper of the Year watch list – Georgia’s Dylan Cole (Sr.), Auburn’s Terrance Dedrick (Sr.), Texas A&M’s Jason Jester (Sr.) and Vanderbilt’s Brian Miller (Jr.).

UCLA’s David Berg won the award last season as a sophomore notching 24 saves while leading the Bruins to the national championship.

2014 NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List

Pitcher School Yr.

Kevin Alexander Florida Atlantic Sr.

Brad Applin Rhode Island So.

David Berg UCLA Jr.

Nick Burdi Louisville Jr.

Ryan Burr Arizona State So.

Garrett Cleavinger Oregon So.

Dylan Cole Georgia Sr.

Jacob Cronenworth Michigan So.

Terrance Dedrick Auburn Sr.

Trace Dempsey Ohio State Jr.

Jacob Dorris Texas A&M-CC Jr.

Trevor Dunlap Washington Sr.

Eric Eck Wofford Sr.

Matt Eckelman Saint Louis So.

Taylor Edens VMI So.

Riley Ferrell TCU So.

Ian Gibaut Tulane So.

Joe Goodman High Point Jr.

Ryan Halstead Indiana Sr.

Dylan Hecht UCSB So.

Jonathan Holder Mississippi State Jr.

Jason Jester Texas A&M Sr.

Mason Klotz Southeastern Louisiana So.

Dimitri Kourtis Mercer Jr.

Karch Kowalczyk Valparaiso Sr.

Craig LeJeune George Washington Sr.

Zech Lemond Rice Jr.

Seth Lucio Tennessee Tech Jr.

David Mahoney Connecticut R-Jr.

Jake Matthys Kansas State So.

Chris McCue North Carolina Jr.

Brendan McCurry Oklahoma State Sr.

Sutter McLoughlin Sacramento State So.

Brian Miller Vanderbilt Jr.

Ross Mitchell Mississippi State R-Jr.

Kevin Mooney Maryland So.

J.D. Moore South Dakota State Jr.

Corbin Olmstead North Florida So.

Lawrence Pardo USF Sr.

Ashton Perritt Liberty Jr.

Jordan Piche Kansas Sr.

Tyler Powell Western Carolina Jr.

Reed Reilly Cal Poly Jr.

Drew Reynolds East Carolina Sr.

Josh Roeder Nebraska Jr.

Jason Simms Sam Houston State Sr.

Travis Stout Jacksonville State Jr.

Ryan Thompson Campbell Sr.

Ian Tompkins Western Kentucky Jr.

Kevin Willman Northern Colorado Sr.

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Baseball Tagged with: , , , , , ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers