Lindgren, Mitchell named Ferriss Trophy finalists

Jacob Lindgren

Jacob Lindgren

Five finalists have been announced for the 2014 C Spire Ferriss Trophy with four being pitchers.

Mississippi State junior hurlers Jacob Lindgren and Ross Mitchell are on the list along with Ole Miss junior pitcher Chris Ellis and Belhaven senior pitcher/ first baseman Tyler Akins.

The Rebels Auston Bausfield, a junior outfielder, is the only primary position player named as a finalist.

The finalists were chosen by college coaches and professional

Ross Mitchell

Ross Mitchell

scouts who cover the Magnolia State. The Ferriss Trophy will be presented on May 19 at 11:30 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.

Hunter Renfroe of Mississippi State claimed last year’s award. Since 2004, four players from MSU and Ole Miss have won the award along with one from Belhaven and one from Southern Miss.


Past Ferriss Trophy winners

  • 2004 Stephen Head (IF/P) Ole Miss
  • 2005 Brian Pettway (OF) Ole Miss
  • 2006 Thomas Berkery (IF) Mississippi State
  • 2007 Ed Easley (C) Mississippi State
  • 2008 Scott Bittle (P) Ole Miss
  • 2009 Craig Westcott (IF/P) Belhaven University
  • 2010 Drew Pomeranz (P) Ole Miss
  • 2011 Tyler Koelling (OF) Southern Miss
  • 2012 Chris Stratton (P)Mississippi State
  • 2013 Hunter Renfroe (OF) Mississippi State

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Baseball Tagged with: , , , , ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers