McKinney named to Nagurski Trophy watch list

Benardrick McKinney

Benardrick McKinney

Mississippi State’s Benardrick McKinney was named to another watch list.

The junior linebacker from Tunica was named to the Bednarik Award watch list earlier in the week and was selected to the Nagurski Trophy watch list on Thursday.

The Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the National Defensive Player of the Year and is named after former football great Bronko Nagurski. The trophy will be awarded at a banquet on Dec. 8 in Charlotte, N.C.

McKinney has notched 173 tackles during his career and led the Bulldogs with 71 last season. He also made seven stops for loss, 3.5 sacks and recovered two fumbles in 2013.

Henry Anderson, Stanford, DE Myles Jack, UCLA, LB
Stephone Anthony, Clemson, LB Grady Jarrett, Clemson, DT
Vic Beasley, Clemson, DE Jordan Jenkins, Georgia, LB
Michael Bennett, Ohio State, DT A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, LB
Craig Bills, BYU, DB Eric Kendricks, UCLA, LB
Joey Bosa, Ohio State, DE Hau’oli Kikaha, Washington, DE
Kelby Brown, Duke, LB Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech, DT
Malcom Brown, Texas, DT Derrick Malone, Oregon, LB
Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State, DE Tyler Matakevich, Temple, LB
Alex Carter, Stanford, DB Derrick Mathews, Houston, LB
Sam Carter, TCU, DB Lorenzo Mauldin, Louisville, DE
Jeremy Cash, Duke, DB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State, LB
Frank Clark, Michigan, DE Ryan Mueller, Kansas State, DE
Landon Collins, Alabama, DB Steven Nelson, Oregon State, DB
Blake Countess, Michigan, DB Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss, DT
Christian Covington, Rice, DT Shawn Oakman, Baylor, DE
Su’a Cravens, USC, DB Denzel Perryman, Miami, LB
Carl Davis, Iowa, DT Marcus Peters, Washington, DB
Tyeler Davison, Fresno State, DE Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss, DB
Trey DePriest, Alabama, LB Hayes Pullard, USC, LB
Quandre Diggs, Texas, DB Cedric Reed, Texas, DE
Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, DB Jordan Richards, Stanford, DB
Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State, DB A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama, DE
Alvin Dupree, Kentucky, DE KeiVarae Russell, Notre Dame, DB
Mario Edwards Jr., Florida State, DE Jake Ryan, Michigan, LB
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, DB Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, DB
Kyler Fackrell, Utah State, LB Danny Shelton, Washington, DT
Devonte Fields, TCU, DE Derron Smith, Fresno State, DB
Trey Flowers, Arkansas, DE Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame, LB
Leonard Floyd, Georgia, LB Eric Striker, Oklahoma, LB
Dante Fowler Jr., Florida, DE Charles Tapper, Oklahoma, DE
Alani Fua, BYU, LB A.J. Tarpley, Stanford, LB
Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech, DB Jared Tevis, Arizona, DB
Markus Golden, Missouri, DE Shaq Thompson, Washington, LB
Randy Gregory, Nebraska, DE Tony Washington, Oregon, DE
Bryce Hager, Baylor, LB Trae Waynes, Michigan State, DB
Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida, DB P.J. Williams, Florida State, DB
Anthony Harris, Virginia, DB Leonard Williams, USC, DE
Ben Heeney, Kansas, LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia, LB
Chucky Hunter, TCU, DT Gabe Wright, Auburn, DT
Martin Ifedi, Memphis, DE
By conference: Pac-12 18, SEC 16, Big 12 13, ACC 12, Big Ten 10, American Athletic 4, Independents 4, Mountain West 3, Conference USA 1.
By position: Tackles 10, Ends 23, Linebackers 24, Backs 24.

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:
  • Mike Davis

    Good for him.

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers