More recognition for McKinney

Benardrick McKinney

Benardrick McKinney

The recognition continues to come in for Mississippi State rising junior linebacker Benardrick McKinney.

McKinney was named to watch lists for both the Butkus and Lombardi Awards on Monday after having been added to the Bednarik Award and Nagurski Trophy watch lists last week.

The 6-foot-5, 245-pounder from Tunica has notched 173 tackles during his career and led the Bulldogs with 71 last season. McKinney also made seven stops for loss, 3.5 sacks and recovered two fumbles in 2013.

The Butkus Award is presented to the top high school, college and professional linebackers who also exemplify community services achievements as well. The award is named after former Chicago Bears linebacker Dick Butkus and has 51 players the watch list.

The list of 51 players will be trimmed on Oct. 28 and finalists named on Nov. 26. The award will be presented on or before Dec. 10.

The Lomabardi Award has been given annually since 1970 to the top lineman or linebacker in college football and is named for legendary coach Vince Lombardi. 123 players were named to the watch list including McKinney’s teammate Chris Jones.

The Lombardi Award will be presented Dec. 10 at the Bayou Music City in Houston.

2014 Butkus Award Watch List

Stephone Anthony, Clemson

Kelby Brown, Duke

Yannik Cudjoe-Virgil, Maryland

Dyshawn Davis, Syracuse

Aaron Davis, Colorado State

Paul Dawson, TCU

Trey DePriest, Alabama

Steve Edmond, Texas

Kyler Fackrell, Utah State

Maurice Falls, East Carolina

Leonard Floyd, Georgia

Kris Frost, Auburn

Alani Fua, BYU

Jarrett Grace, Notre Dame

Curtis Grant, Ohio State

Bryce Hager, Baylor

Ben Heeney, Kansas

Jordan Hicks, Texas

Zach Hodges, Harvard

Mike Hull, Penn State

Myles Jack, UCLA

Jordan Jenkins, Georgia

A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

Taiwan Jones, Michigan State

Eric Kendricks, UCLA

Hau’oli Kikaha, Washington

Derrick Malone, Oregon

Tyler Matakevich, Temple

Derrick Matthews, Houston

Lorenzo Mauldin, Louisville

Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State

Braylon Mitchell, Arkansas

Mason Monheim, Illinois

Mike Orakpo, Texas State

Norkeithus Otis, North Carolina

Denzel Perryman, Miami (Fla.)

Terrance Plummer, UCF

Sonny Puletasi, Wyoming

Hayes Pullard, USC

Reggie Ragland, Alabama

Jake Ryan, Michigan

Stephon Sanders, SMU

Frank Shannon, Oklahoma

Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame

Terrance Smith, Florida State

Eric Striker, Oklahoma

A.J. Tarpley, Stanford

John Tavai, USC

Shaq Thompson, Washington

James Vaughters, Stanford

Ramik Wilson, Georgia


I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:
  • Mike Davis

    B-Mac on the attack!

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers