Prescott picks up two more accolades

Dak Prescott

Dak Prescott

Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott collected two more honors Wednesday being selected to the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award watch list as well as nominated for the Allstate American Football Coaches Association Good Works Team.

The Davey O’Brien Award is given annually to the top quarterback in college football. Prescott is one of five SEC signal callers and 13 juniors among the 39 players on the watch list. The award is named for the former 1938 Heisman Trophy winner at TCU.

The Davey O’Brien Award field will be narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Nov. 3 and three finalists by Nov. 24. A winner will be announced on Dec. 11 as part of The Home Depot College Football Awards televised on ESPN.

The AllState Good Works Team is comprised of 11 FBS and 11 NCAA Football Subdivision players who exemplify good community service.

Prescott worked with the Salvation Army during the holiday season and assisted with tornado relief efforts in Mississippi in May. He also visited patients at St. Jude’s Hospital in Memphis.

The Haughton, La., native is one of 182 nominees for the AllState Good Works Team which will be announced in September.

On the field, Prescott started seven games for the Bulldogs last season completing 156 of 267 passing for 1,940 yards and 10 touchdowns. He also rushed 134 times for 829 yards and 13 touchdowns while adding two receiving scores as well.

Prescott was also picked for the Maxwell Award watch list last week.

2014 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®Watch List

Anthony Boone (Duke, Senior)

Terrance Broadway (Louisiana, Senior)

Shane Carden (East Carolina, Senior)

Rakeem Cato (Marshall, Senior)

Connor Cook (Michigan State, Junior)

Jeff Driskel (Florida, Junior)

Cody Fajardo (Nevada, Senior)

Devin Gardner (Michigan, Senior)

Jared Goff (California, Sophomore)

Everett Golson (Notre Dame, Junior)

Garrett Grayson (Colorado State, Senior)

Christian Hackenberg (Penn State, Sophomore)

Connor Halliday (Washington State, Senior)

Grant Hedrick (Boise State, Senior)

Taylor Heinicke (Old Dominion, Senior)

Taysom Hill (BYU, Junior)

Kevin Hogan (Stanford, Junior)

Brett Hundley (UCLA, Junior)

Matt Johnson (Bowling Green, Junior)

Chuckie Keeton (Utah State, Senior)

Taylor Kelly (Arizona State, Senior)

Cody Kessler (USC, Junior)

Trevor Knight (Oklahoma, Sophomore)

Sean Mannion (Oregon State, Senior)

Marcus Mariota (Oregon, Junior)

Nick Marshall (Auburn, Senior)

Hutson Mason (Georgia, Senior)

Braxton Miller (Ohio State, Senior)

John O’Korn (Houston, Sophomore)

Bryce Petty (Baylor, Senior)

Dak Prescott (Mississippi State, Junior)

Keenan Reynolds (Navy, Junior)

Joel Stave (Wisconsin, Junior)

P.J. Walker (Temple, Sophomore)

Bo Wallace (Ole Miss, Senior)

J.W. Walsh (Oklahoma State, Junior)

Jake Waters (Kansas State, Senior)

Davis Webb (Texas Tech, Sophomore)

Jameis Winston (Florida State, Sophomore)

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers