Robinson on Doak Walker Award watch list

Josh Robinson

Josh Robinson

Mississippi State junior Josh Robinson has earned a spot on the Doak Walker Award watch list given annually to the nation’s top running back.

Robinson appeared in all 13 games for the Bulldogs last season earning two starts. The 5-foot-9, 215-pounder from Franklinton, La., rushed 78 times for 459 yards and three touchdowns. He also added 12 catches for 115 yards out of the backfield.

The award is in honor of former MSU three-time All-American Doak Walker and is in its 25th year of existence. 53 running backs were placed on the watch list and will be narrowed to semifinalists on Nov. 18.

Finalists will be selected on Nov. 24 and the winner will be announced on Dec. 11 at The Home Depot College Football Awards televised on ESPN.

2014 Doak Walker Candidates

Ameer Abdullah (Sr.), Nebraska Jay Ajayi (Jr.), Boise State
Javorius “Buck” Allen (Jr.), USC Leon Allen (Jr.), Western Kentucky
Terry Baggett (Sr.), Army Bill Belton (Sr.), Penn State
Malcolm Brown (Sr.), Texas Tra Carson (Jr.), Texas A&M
B.J. Catalon (Jr.), TCU David Cobb (Sr.), Minnesota
Tevin Coleman (Jr.), Indiana Alex Collins (So.), Arkansas
James Conner (So.), Pittsburgh Marcus Cox (So.), Appalachian State
Mike Davis (Jr.), South Carolina Kenneth Dixon (Jr.), Louisiana Tech
Jahwan Edwards (Sr.), Ball State Kenneth Farrow (Jr.), Houston
Josh Ferguson (Jr.), Illinois D.J. Foster (Jr.), Arizona State
Melvin Gordon (Jr.), Wisconsin Michael Gordon (Jr.), Arkansas State
Johnathan Gray (Jr.), Texas Todd Gurley (Jr.), Georgia
Kenneth Harper (Sr.), Temple Alonzo Harris (Sr.), Louisiana-Lafayette
Derrick Henry (So.), Alabama Bronson Hill (Sr.), Eastern Michigan
Joe Hill (Sr.), Utah State Duke Johnson (Jr.), Miami
Aaron Jones (So.), UTEP Jeremy Langford (Sr.), Michigan State
Daniel Lasco (Jr.), California Shock Linwood (So.), Baylor
Robert Lowe (Jr.), Texas State Tre Madden (Jr.), USC
Terrence Magee (Sr.), LSU Raymond Maples (Sr.), Army
Byron Marshall (Jr.), Oregon Kevin Parks (Sr.), Virginia
Christian Powell (Jr.), Colorado Donnel Pumphrey (So.), San Diego State
Josh Robinson (Jr.), Mississippi State William Stanback (So.), UCF
Cameron Stingily (Sr.), Northern Illinois Kelvin Taylor (So.), Florida
Thomas Tyner (So.), Oregon Jamaal Williams (Jr.), BYU
Johnathan Williams (Jr.), Arkansas Trey Williams (Jr.), Texas A&M
Aaron Wimberly (Sr.), Iowa State T.J. Yeldon (Jr.), Alabama
Kelsey Young (Sr.), Stanford Zach Zwinak (Sr.), Penn State

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers