Bell a candidate for Ray Guy Award


Devon Bell

Devon Bell

Mississippi State junior punter Devon Bell has been named a candidate for the Ray Guy Award.

Bell has punted 28 times in five games for the top-ranked Bulldogs this season averaging 44.2 yards. The junior from Vicksburg has pinned 10 of those punts inside the red zone and had a career-long 70-yard punt against South Alabama.

For his career, Bell has 52 punts for an average of 42.9 yards.

The list of 80 candidates were released Friday for the award given annually to the nation’s top punter. The award is named for former Southern Miss and NFL Hall of Famer Ray Guy.

The list will be shortened to 10 finalists on Nov. 10 and three finalists will be named on Nov. 24. The award will be handed out on Dec. 11 at The Home Depot College Football Awards.


• JK Scott, Alabama
• Drew Riggleman, Arizona
• Matthew Haack, Arizona State
• Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas
• Luke Ferguson, Arkansas State
• Alex Tardieu, Army
• Spencer Roth, Baylor
• Alex Howell, Boston College
• Tyler Grassman, Buffalo
• Scott Arellano, BYU
• Cole Leininger, California
• Ron Coluzzi, Central Michigan
• Bradley Pinion, Clemson
• Darragh O’Neill, Colorado
• Hayden Hunt, Colorado State
• Will Monday, Duke
• Worth Gregory, East Carolina
• Owen Dubiel, Eastern Michigan
• Dalton Schomp, FAU
• Kyle Christy, Florida
• Garrett Swanson, Fresno State
• Collin Barber, Georgia
• Scott Harding, Hawai‘i
• Austin Rehkow, Idaho
• Justin DuVernois, Illinois
• Colin Downing, Iowa State
• Trevor Pardula, Kansas
• Nick Walsh, Kansas State
• Anthony Melchiori, Kent State
• Landon Foster, Kentucky
• Daniel Cadona, Louisiana
• Jamie Keehn, LSU
• Tyler Williams, Marshall
• Will Hagerup, Michigan
• Mike Sadler, Michigan State
• Peter Mortell, Minnesota
• Devon Bell, Mississippi State
• Christian Brinser, Missouri
• Wil Baumann, NC State
• Sam Foltz, Nebraska

• Thomas Hibbard, UNC

• Tyler Wedel, Northern Illinois

• Cameron Johnston, Ohio State

• Jed Barnett, Oklahoma

• Kip Smith, Oklahoma State
• Jarrett Cervi, Old Dominion
• Will Gleeson, Ole Miss
• Keith Kostol, Oregon State
• Ryan Winslow, Pittsburgh
• Thomas Meadows, Purdue
• James Farrimond, Rice
• Joel Alesi, San Diego State
• Tyler Hull, South Carolina
• Tyler Sarrazin, Southern Miss
• Ben Rhyne, Stanford
• Riley Dixon, Syracuse
• Ethan Perry, TCU
• Matt Darr, Tennessee
• William Russ, Texas
• Drew Kaser, Texas A&M
• Will Johnson, Texas State
• Taylor Symmank, Texas Tech
• Dalton Parks, Tulsa
• Hunter Mullins, UAB
• Caleb Houston, UCF
• Justin Wain, UConn
• Justin Manton, ULM
• Logan Yunker, UNLV
• Mattias Ciabatti, USF
• Tom Hackett, Utah
• Jaron Bentrude, Utah State
• Mike Ruggles, UTEP
• Alec Vozenilek, Virginia
• A.J. Hughes, Virginia Tech
• Alexander Kinal, Wake Forest
• Korey Durkee, Washington
• Nick O’Toole, West Virginia
• J. Schroeder, Western Michigan
• Drew Meyer, Wisconsin
• Joseph Occhipinti, WKU


I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers