McKinney selected as Lombardi Award semifinalist

Benardrick McKinney

Benardrick McKinney

Mississippi State junior linebacker Benardrick McKinney was selected as one of 12 semifinalist for the 45th Rotary Lombardi Award.

The Lombardi Award is presented to the lineman of the year in college football. Finalists will be named on Nov. 20 and the award will be presented on Dec. 10 at the Bayou Music Center in Houston, Texas.

McKinney leads the Bulldogs with 50 tackles, six for loss, three sacks, three pass deflections, one forced fumble and three fumble recoveries.

Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald won the Lombardi Award last year.

The 12 semifinalists are:

Vic Beasley                   DE       Sr         Clemson

Joey Bosa                    DE       So        Ohio State

Shilique Calhoun           DE       Jr         Michigan State

Reese Dismukes           C          Sr         Auburn

Hau’oli Kikaha               LB        Sr         Washington

Benardrick McKinney     LB        Jr         Mississippi State

Robert  Nkemdiche        DT        So        Ole Miss

Nate Orchard                 DE       Sr         Utah

Shane Ray                    DE       Jr         Missouri

Brandon Scherff            T          Sr         Iowa

Leonard Williams           DE       Jr         USC

Scooby            Wright               LB        So        Arizona




I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers