Prescott picked as O’Brien semifinalist


Dak Prescott

Dak Prescott

Mississippi State junior Dak Prescott has been named a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

Prescott is the first quarterback to be named a semifinalist under Dan Mullen since Tim Tebow in 2007 and is one of 16 signal callers still in the mix for the award. Three finalists will be named on Nov. 24 and the winner will be announced on Dec. 11 as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

The Haughton, La., native has completed 61.1 percent of his passes for 2,025 yards, 16 touchdowns and seven interceptions. Prescott has also added 725 yards on the ground with 10 touchdowns and also hauled in a receiving score.

Florida State quarterback Jamies Winston won the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award in 2013.

The semifinalists are: J.T. Barrett, Ohio State; Trevone Boykin, TCU; Shane Carden, East Carolina; Rakeem Cato, Marshall; Connor Cook, Michigan State; Everett Golson, Notre Dame; Brett Hundley, UCLA; Marcus Mariota, Oregon; Nick Marshall, Auburn; Bryce Petty, Baylor; Dak Prescott, Mississippi State; Blake Sims, Alabama; Clint Trickett, West Virginia; Bo Wallace, Ole Miss; Jake Waters, Kansas State; and Jameis Winston, Florida State.


I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers