Mullen up for Coach of the Year honor

Dan Mullen

Dan Mullen

Mississippi State’s Dan Mullen was among 20 semifinalists up for the Maxwell Football Club Coach of the Year honor.

Mullen has the fourth-ranked Bulldogs off to a 9-1 start to the season and have been ranked for the last seven weeks – including a five week run at No. 1.

The 42-year old has guided MSU to four straight bowl appearances and has qualified for a fifth. Mullen is 45-29 during his six seasons in Starkville and is already third all-time on the school’s win list.

Mullen’s .608 winning percentage is the second-highest in Bulldog history behind Allyn McKeen (.764).

Finalists will be named on Dec. 9 and a winner announced on Dec. 21.

Maxwell Coach of the Year semifinalists

Troy Calhoun, Air Force

Nick Saban, Alabama

Rich Rodriguez, Arizona

Todd Graham, Arizona State

Art Briles, Baylor

Jim McElwain, Colorado State

David Cutcliffe, Duke

Jimbo Fisher, Florida State

Mark Richt, Georgia

Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech

Bill Snyder, Kansas State

Doc Holliday, Marshall

Hugh Freeze, Ole Miss

Dan Mullen, Mississippi State

Urban Meyer, Ohio State

Mark Helfrich, Oregon

Gary Patterson, TCU

Kyle Whittingham, Utah

P.J. Fleck, Western Michigan

Gary Andersen, Wisconsin


I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers