Schaefer, Vivians earn SEC honors



Mississippi State’s Vic Schaefer was named the SEC Coach of the Year by the Associated Press.

In his third year in Starkville, Schaefer guided the Bulldogs to a school-best 11 SEC wins and 26 overall victories an a berth in the NCAA Tournament.

Schaefer shared the coaches’ SEC Coach of the Year honors with South Carolina’s Dawn Staley last week.

Joining Schaefer with AP All-SEC second team honors is freshman wing Victoria Vivians. Vivians leads MSU with 15.1



points per game and was awarded the Gillom Trophy as the state’s top women’s college basketball player.

South Carolina’s Tiffany Mitchell was named SEC Player of the Year while teammate A’Ja Wilson was selected SEC Freshman of the Year by the AP.


u-Tia Faleru, Mississippi, F, 6-1, Sr.

Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina, G, 5-9, Jr.

Makayla Epps, Kentucky, G, 5-10, So.

A’ja Wilson, South Carolina, F, 6-5, Fr.

Courtney Walker, Texas A&M, G, 5-8, Jr.



Isabelle Harrison, Tennessee, C, 6-3, Sr.

Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State, F

Danielle Ballard, LSU, G, 5-9, Jr.

Cierra Burdick, Tennessee, F, 6-2, Sr.

t-Alaina Coates, South Carolina, C, 6-4, So.

t-Jessica Jackson, Arkansas, F, 6-3, So.

t-Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina, F, 6-0, Sr.



Jordan Frericks, Missouri, F, 6-1, So.

Jennifer O’Neill, Kentucky, G, 5-6, Sr.

Courtney Williams, Texas A&M, F, 6-1, Jr.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina

COACH OF THE YEAR — Vic Schaefer, Mississippi State

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR — A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Basketball Tagged with: ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers