Prescott gets another shot at O’Brien Award

Dak Prescott

Dak Prescott

Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott finished as a finalist for the Davey O’Brien Award as a junior last season along with TCU signal caller Trevone Boykin only to lose to Oregon’s Marcus Mariota.

Prescott will get another shot again this year and was one of two dozen quarterbacks selected to the O’Brien Award watch list on Thursday. Prescott, Tennessee’s Joshua Dobbs and Auburn’s Jeremy Johnson were the only Southeastern Conference quarterbacks on the list.

The O’Brien Award is presented annually to the top college quarterback.

Prescott broke 12 MSU records in 2014. The 6-foot-2, 230-pounder from Haughton, La., completed 61.6 percent of his passes for 3,449 yards, 27 touchdowns and 11 interceptions while rushing for an additional 986 yards and 14 more scores. He also caught two passes for 35 yards and a touchdown.

The list will be narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Nov. 2 and three finalists will be named on Nov. 24. The winner will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN on Dec. 10.

2015 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List

Trevone Boykin (TCU, Senior)

Connor Cook (Michigan State, Senior)

Joshua Dobbs (Tennessee, Junior)

Brandon Doughty (Western Kentucky, Senior)

Blake Frohnapfel (UMass, Senior)

Jared Goff (California, Junior)

Christian Hackenberg (Penn State, Junior)

Taysom Hill (BYU, Senior)

Kevin Hogan (Stanford, Senior)

Jeremy Johnson (Auburn, Sophomore)

Cardale Jones* (Ohio State, Junior)

Brad Kaaya (Miami, Sophomore)

Chuckie Keeton (Utah State, Senior)

Cody Kessler (USC, Senior)

Gunner Kiel (Cincinnati, Junior)

Fredi Knighten (Arkansas State, Junior)

Paxton Lynch (Memphis, Sophomore)

Dak Prescott (Mississippi State, Senior)

Keenan Reynolds (Navy, Senior)

Anu Solomon (Arizona, Sophomore)

Zach Terrell (Western Michigan, Junior)

Justin Thomas (Georgia Tech, Junior)

Deshaun Watson (Clemson, Sophomore)

Marquise Williams (North Carolina, Senior)

* Finished last year as Ohio State’s starting quarterback. The school has not yet named a starter for the 2015 season.

By Conference: Pac-12 (4), ACC (4), AAC (3), Big Ten (3), SEC (3), MAC (2), Big 12 (1), C-USA (1), Mountain West (1), Sun Belt (1), Independents (1).

By Class: Senior (11), Junior (8), Sophomore (5).



I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers