Prescott picked as a semifinalist for Maxwell, O’Brien Awards

Dak Prescott

Dak Prescott

Mississippi State’s Dak Prescott has been named a semifinalist for both the Maxwell Award and the Davey O’Brien Award.

The Maxwell Award is presented annually to college football’s player of the yearwhile the Davey O’Brien Award is given to the country’s top quarterback. Prescott was a finalists for both awards last year.

This season the 6-foot-2, 230-pound senior from Haughton, La., has completed 173 of 260 passes for 2,048 yards, 14 touchdowns and one interception while also adding 371 yards and seven more scores on 72 carries.

A total of 20 players were named semifinalists for the Maxwell Award and 17 for the Davey O’Brien Award on Monday. Three finalists will be selected for each honor on Nov. 24 and the winners will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN Dec. 10.

Oregon’s Marcus Mariota won both awards in 2014.

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers