Prescott named Conerly Trophy finalist

Dak Prescott

Dak Prescott

Mississippi State senior quarterback Dak Prescott is the first player nominated for the 2015 Conerly Trophy, which is awarded annually to the state’s most outstanding college football player.

Prescott claimed the award last year and could be just the second player to win the Conerly Trophy twice, joining former Ole Miss signal caller Eli Manning.

Prescott owns 36 MSU records and is up for seven national awards. The 6-foot-2, 230-pounder from Haughton, La., has completed 66.7 percent of his passes for 2,351 yards, 18 touchdowns and one interception while also rushing for 418 yards and seven more scores.

Mississippi’s 10 four-year football programs have until Nov. 23 to nominate a finalist. The Conerly Trophy will be presented Dec. 1 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in Jackson.

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers