Three Bulldogs earn All-SEC status

Fred Ross

Fred Ross

Mississippi State saw three of its players picked as All-SEC members by the league’s coaches on Tuesday.

Senior quarterback Dak Prescott and junior wide receiver Fred Ross were selected to the first team while junior wideout De’Runnya Wilson was placed on the second team.

Prescott is the first signal caller in school history to be named first team All-SEC in back-to-back seasons. The 6-foot-2, 230-pounder from Haughton, La., was the only player in the conference to lead his team in both rushing and passing.

Prescott completed 66.9 percent of his throws for 3,413 yards, 25 touchdowns and four interceptions while adding 541 yards and 10 more

De'Runnya Wilson

De’Runnya Wilson

scores on the ground.

Ross is the first Bulldog receiver honored on the first team since Eric Moulds in 1995. The 6-foot-2, 207-pounder from Tyler, Texas caught 81 passes for 933 yards and four touchdowns.

Wilson, a 6-foot-5, 215-pounder from Birmingham, Ala., hauled in 55 passes for 822 yards and nine scores, which ranked second in the SEC.

MSU became the first school since Georgia in 2008 to place a quarterback and two receivers on the All-SEC team.

First Team All-SEC
TE Hunter Henry Arkansas
OL Sebastian Tretola Arkansas
OL Vadal Alexander LSU
OL Cam Robinson Alabama
OL John Theus Georgia
C Ryan Kelly Alabama
WR Laquon Treadwell Ole Miss
WR Fred Ross Mississippi State
WR Pharoh Cooper South Carolina
QB Dak Prescott Mississippi State
RB Derrick Henry Alabama
RB Leonard Fournette LSU
AP Pharoh Cooper South Carolina
DL Myles Garrett Texas A&M
DL Jonathan Allen Alabama
DL Jonathan Bullard Florida
DL A’Shawn Robinson Alabama
LB Kentrell Brothers Missouri
LB Reggie Ragland Alabama
LB Zach Cunningham Vanderbilt
DB Vernon Hargreaves III Florida
DB Eddie Jackson Alabama
DB Jalen Tabor Florida
DB Trae Elston Ole Miss
PK Daniel Carlson Auburn
P Drew Kaser Texas A&M
RS Evan Berry Tennessee
Second Team All-SEC
TE Evan Engram Ole Miss
OL Dominick Jackson Alabama
OL Shon Coleman Auburn
OL Dan Skipper Arkansas
OL Germain Ifedi Texas A&M
C Ethan Pocic LSU
WR Calvin Ridley Alabama
WR Christian Kirk Texas A&M
WR De’Runnya Wilson Mississippi State
QB Chad Kelly Ole Miss
RB Alex Collins Arkansas
RB Jalen Hurd Tennessee
AP Christian Kirk Texas A&M
DL Robert Nkemdiche Ole Miss
DL Marquis Haynes Ole Miss
DL Charles Harris Missouri
DL Derek Barnett Tennessee
LB Leonard Floyd Georgia
LB Antonio Morrison Florida
LB Skai Moore South Carolina
DB Mike Hilton Ole Miss
DB Dominick Sanders Georgia
DB Tre’Davious White LSU
DB Jamal Adams LSU
PK Taylor Bertolet Texas A&M
PK Adam Griffith Alabama
P Johnny Townsend Florida
RS Christian Kirk Texas A&M

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with: , ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers