MSU wins Football Field of the Year

Davis Wade Stadium

Davis Wade Stadium

Mississippi State’s Scott Field at Davis Wade Stadium has been recognized as Football Field of the Year by the Sports Turf Managers Association for colleges with a natural playing surface.

A panel of 15 judges scored fields based on playability, surface appearance, utilization of innovative solutions, effective use of budget and implementation of a comprehensive agronomic program.

This is a driving force that we shoot for every year,” said MSU superintendent of sports turf facilities management Brandon Hardin. “It’s a fantastic honor, and it’s been a goal of mine since I started here to win this again. The athletics and campus landscape departments have shown a commitment to giving us what we need to produce these kinds of awards.”

It is the second time Scott Field and its grounds crew have claimed the award, having also won in 2003. MSU joins Iowa State as the only two schools that have been named Football Field of the Year twice.

The MSU grounds crew will be presented the award at the annual Sports Turf Managers Association banquet on Jan. 22 in San Diego and Scott Field will be featured in SportsTurf Magazine.

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with:

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers