Three Bulldogs honored by the SEC

Teaira McCowan

Teaira McCowan

Three Mississippi State players were honored by the Southeastern Conference on Tuesday.

Sophomore guard Victoria Vivians was picked first team All-SEC after ranking second in the league scoring 16.8 points per game. Vivians was a second team selection last year.

Teaira McCowan earned a spot on the All-Freshman team. The 6-foot-7 forward averaged 6.9 points, 5.9 rebounds and 1.4 blocks.

Dominique Dillingham was selected to the All-Defensive team. The junior guard had 61 defensive rebounds, 42 steals, 13 blocks and took 47 charges.

South Carolina’s A’ja Wilson was named SEC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the

Dominique Dillingham

Dominique Dillingham

Year while her coach, Dawn Staley, earned Coach of the Year. Missouri’s Sophie Cunningham was picked as Freshman of the Year, Texas A&M’s Chelsea Jennings received 6th Woman of the Year and Georgia’s Marjorie Butler was selected Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

First Team All-SEC
Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Makayla Epps, Kentucky
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
A’ja Wilson, South Carolina
Courtney Walker, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC
Ronni Williams, Florida
Tiaria Griffin, Georgia
Evelyn Akhator, Kentucky
Janee Thompson, Kentucky
Sophie Cunningham, Missouri
Jordan Frericks, Missouri
Jordan Jones, Texas A&M
Courtney Williams, Texas A&M

Eleanna Christinaki, Florida
Caliya Robinson, Georgia
Maci Morris, Kentucky
Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State
Sophie Cunningham, Missouri
Cierra Porter, Missouri
Te’a Cooper, Tennessee
Anriel Howard, Texas A&M

Simone Westbrook, Florida
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Dominique Dillingham, Mississippi State
A’ja Wilson, South Carolina
Jordan Jones, Texas A&M

Coach of the Year: Dawn Staley, South Carolina

Player of the Year: A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

Freshman of the Year: Sophie Cunningham, Missouri

Defensive Player of the Year: A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

6th Woman of the Year: Chelsea Jennings, Texas A&M

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Marjorie Butler, Georgia

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Basketball Tagged with: , ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers