MSU sets spring football schedule

Dan Mullen will hold the first of 15 spring practices on Wednesday afternoon. (AP Photo/Rogelio V. Solis)

Dan Mullen will hold the first of 15 spring practices on Wednesday afternoon. (AP Photo/Rogelio V. Solis)

Dan Mullen has added a bit of twist to this year’s spring football practice schedule at Mississippi State.

The Bulldogs begin practice Wednesday at 3:30 p.m. and bizarrely will go 13 more days before resuming practices on March 22 due to spring break.

All of MSU’s 15 spring practices will be open to the public including scrimmages inside Davis Wade Stadium on April 2 and April 9. Practices will culminate in the annual Maroon-White Spring Game on April 16 at 11 a.m.

The Bulldogs return 43 letterwinners from last year’s 9-4 squad that won the Belk Bowl. State has six starters back on offense and seven on defense.

Wednesday’s practice will be the first for four new defensive coaches – Brian Baker, Peter Sirmon, Terrell Buckley and Maurice Linguist. It will also be the initial practice for mid-year enrollees Tre Brown, Lashard Durr, Dontea Jones, C.J. Morgan-Walker and Christian Roberson.

Spring Football Practice Schedule:

Wednesday, March 9 – 3:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 22 – 3:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 24 – 3:45 p.m.
Friday, March 25 – 2:30 p.m.
Tuesday, March 29 – 3:45 p.m.
Thursday, March 31 – 3:45 p.m.
Friday, April 1 – 3:15 p.m.
Saturday, April 2 – 11:10 a.m. (Scrimmage in Davis Wade Stadium)
Tuesday, April 5 – 3:45 p.m.
Thursday, April 7 – 3:45 p.m.
Saturday, April 9 – 11:10 a.m. (Scrimmage in Davis Wade Stadium)
Tuesday, April 12 – 3:45 p.m.
Thursday, April 14 – 3:45 p.m.
Friday, April 15 – 3:45 p.m.
Saturday, April 16 – 11 a.m. (Maroon and White Spring Game in Davis Wade Stadium)

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Football Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,


Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers