Vivians on Wade Trophy watch list

Victoria Vivians

Victoria Vivians

Mississippi State’s Victoria Vivians was one of 30 players selected to the watch list for the WBCA Wade Trophy.

The Wade Trophy is awarded annually to the top NCAA Division I women’s basketball player who also excels off the the court.

It is the fourth national player of the year award that the sophomore guard is up for. Vivians earned her second straight Gillom Trophy on Monday, which is awarded to the top collegiate female basketball player in Mississippi.

The Carthage native ranks second in the SEC in scoring at 17.2 points per game including a 15.4 average in conference play.

Vivians was a first team All-SEC selection and a member of the SEC All-Tournament team after leading the Bulldogs to the championship game averaging 22 points.

The winner of the Wade Trophy will be announced during the WBCA Convention during the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Indianapolis.

Here is the list of candidates for the 2016 Wade Trophy in alphabetical order:

Player Institution Position Year
Jillian Alleyne University of Oregon Forward Senior
Ameryst Alston Ohio State University Guard Senior
Rachel Banham University of Minnesota Guard RS Senior
Imani Boyette University of Texas Center Senior
Adut Bulgak Florida State University Center Senior
Jordin Canada UCLA Guard Sophomore
Alaina Coates  University of South Carolina Center Junior
Nia Coffey Northwestern University Forward Junior
Nina Davis Baylor University Forward Junior
Diamond DeShields University of Tennessee Guard RS Sophomore
Makayla Epps University of Kentucky Guard Junior
Moriah Jefferson University of Connecticut Guard Senior
Niya Johnson Baylor University Guard Senior
Brionna Jones University of Maryland Center Junior
Jonquel Jones George Washington University Forward Senior
Brittney Martin Oklahoma State University Guard Senior
Kelsey Mitchell Ohio State University Guard Sophomore
Tiffany Mitchell University of South Carolina Guard Senior
Adrienne Motley University of Miami Guard Junior
Kelsey Plum University of Washington Guard Junior
Aerial Powers Michigan State University Forward Junior
Azurà Stevens Duke University Forward Sophomore
Breanna Stewart University of Connecticut Forward Senior
Morgan Tuck University of Connecticut Forward Senior
Brianna Turner University of Notre Dame Forward Sophomore
Victoria Vivians Mississippi State University Guard Sophomore
Courtney Walker Texas A&M University Guard Senior
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough University of Maryland Guard Junior
Courtney Williams University of South Florida Guard Senior
A’ja Wilson University of South Carolina Forward Sophomore


I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Basketball Tagged with:

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers