Two Bulldogs nominated for McWhorter Award

Shelby Jordan

Shelby Jordan

Mississippi State All-American middle-distance runner Brandon McBride and soccer standout Shelby Jordan have been nominated for the prestigious H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship, the Southeastern Conference announced Wednesday.

The scholarship, presented annually by the conference since 1986, is awarded to the league’s top male and female scholar-athletes.

Over the past four years, McBride has been a leader at MSU on and off the track. The business administration major, expected to graduate in May, holds a 3.55 GPA and most recently recorded a 4.0 GPA in the classroom last fall. He has also been named to the SEC Honor Roll the past three years.

McBride’s track career is highlighted by his sophomore season, during which he was crowned the indoor and outdoor track and field NCAA 800m run champion. In the same season, McBride was crowned the outdoor SEC 800m champion. A six-time first-team All-American and two-time second-team All-American, the Windsor, Ontario native holds six program records at MSU. McBride has appeared in seven NCAA Championships for the Maroon and White. Among other accomplishments, McBride was also selected to the SEC Community Service Team during the 2015 season.

For Jordan, her success stretched from the soccer pitch to the classroom while at MSU. The Jackson, Tenn., native logged 5,208 minutes as a Bulldog in her 73 games with the Maroon and White, as she scored two goals and added three assists.

The senior, who is majoring in kinesiology, was a member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll every season of her career with the Bulldogs. After earning a 4.0 in 2015 she was named to the university’s President’s List. Among other distinctions, Jordan was selected to the SEC Community Service Team in the fall of 2014 after her tireless work in the Starkville community.

Should McBride or Jordan win, they will receive a $15,000 post-graduate scholarship. Should they not win, both will receive a $7,500 post-graduate scholarship. Winners are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from all 14 institutions and are honored next month at the SEC Spring Meetings in Sandestin, Fla.

(From MSU Media Relations)

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Other Tagged with: ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers