Nine MSU hoopsters on honor roll

Gavin Ware

Gavin Ware

Nine Mississippi State basketball players were named to the Southeastern Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll that was released Friday by the league office.

Vic Schaefer’s Bulldogs had eight players earn the honor, the most women’s basketball honorees among the 14 league schools, following a record-setting season that saw his squad win a program-best 28 games and advance to the NCAA Sweet 16.

On the women’s side, AP All-SEC Honorable Mention Dominique Dillingham joined Ketara Chapel, Chinwe Okorie and Breanna Richardson in claiming a third honor roll selection.

WBCA All-America Honorable mention Victoria Vivians notched her second honor roll selection along with fellow sophomores Blair Schaefer, Morgan William and Kayla Nevitt.

Gavin Ware earned a second honor roll selection following a senior season under Ben Howland that saw him claim Associated Press All-SEC Honorable Mention accolades. Ware received his bachelor’s degree in December.

(From MSU Media Relations)

I have covered Mississippi State in some capacity since 2004 and joined the Daily Journal staff in 2013. I enjoy short walks on the beach, performing concerts in my car and watching professional wrestling.

Posted in Basketball Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 635 other subscribers