Final: Ole Miss 5, TCU 2

Another exciting finish for Ole Miss, this time manufacturing runs in a come-from-behind win.

Offense was a struggle for the Rebels all day against TCU right-hander Preston Morrison.

After a leadoff walk in the eighth, TCU coach Jim Schlossnagle elected to go to his pen, and the Rebels put up four runs on three hits. The first run was charged to Morrison, then one to Justin Scharf — who pitched well against Ole Miss in the regional — and the other two to Andrew Mitchell, who entered the game with a 2-2 count against Austin Anderson.

Tanner Mathis had an RBI hit against Scharf to tie the game. Austin Bousfield took Mitchell the opposite way and got a chopper past first base to score Mathis with the go ahead run. Then neither Mitchell nor his second baseman, Derek Odell, could field a slow roller from Will Allen. The error allowed two more runs to score.

Here’s Bianco:


As you could hear in the video, Bianco isn’t ready to evaluate his guys offensively. But listen to this Tanner Mathis clip, and it’s clear that Bianco felt getting this February win was very important.


Mike Mayers, the Ole Miss starter, was just OK in spite of pitching four scoreless innings to start the game. He has pitched better. It looked like he’d get out of the fifth without giving up a run, but TCU loaded the bases with two outs, and Odell slapped one through for a 2-0 Horned Frogs lead.

TCU made good contact a couple of times against Aaron Greenwood in relief, but one hit, one walk and no runs over 3.1 innings is pretty strong. Greenwood got the win.

Brett Huber picked up his second save and did it some some excitement again. Huber did not allow a run but faced six batters.



CF Cody Jones 1-for-3 yesterday

2B Derek Odell 0-for-4

1B Kevin Cron 1-for-3

3B Jantzen Witte 0-for-4

LF Brett Johnson 2-for-4

DH Jerrick Suiter 0-for-3

RF Dylan Fitzgerald 0-for-3

SS Keaton Jones 0-for-2

C Kyle Bacak 0-for-2

RHP Preston Morrison

Ole Miss

LF Mathis 0-for-4

SS Anderson 0-for-4

DH Allen 1-for-4

1B Orvis 1-for-3

C Turner 0-for-2

3B Mistone 1-for-3

RF Jamison 0-for-2

2B Wilson 0-for-2

RHP Mike Mayers

Denham Springs, La., native, Mississippian since 1989 with a stop in Meridian before arriving in Tupelo. Daily Journal beat writer since 1996, covering Ole Miss since 2002. Proud Northeast Louisiana alum. Follow me on Twitter @parrishalford and listen to John Davis and myself daily with The Ole Miss Beat on Rebel Sports Radio.

Posted in Baseball

Parrish’s Twitter Feed

Meet the Writers

JD and Parrish

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other subscribers