Summers is Howell Trophy winner

Jarvis Summers transformation from pass-first point guard to primary scoring option has led him to the Howell Trophy which recognizes the top college basketball player in Mississippi.

The Ole Miss junior guard was named the award’s winner earlier today. Summers edged out teammate Marshall Henderson, who was last year’s winner and was also a finalist.

Southern Miss point guard Neil Watson was the third finalist.

Summers is averaging 17.2 points — almost double his average of a year ago — and 3.8 assists.

“It means a lot to me,” Summers told The Associated Press. “I just want to thank the people who voted for me and my city and my state. This year I’ve just tried to step my game up. Time’s wasting. I’m a junior so I’m just trying to max out my potential.”

The women’s award, The Gillom Trophy, went to Southern Miss point guard Jamierra Faulkner, who leads the nation with 8.5 assists per game. She also averages 17.3 points.

Ole Miss forward Tia Faleru and Mississippi State center Martha Alwal were also finalists.

Denham Springs, La., native, Mississippian since 1989 with a stop in Meridian before arriving in Tupelo. Daily Journal beat writer since 1996, covering Ole Miss since 2002. Proud Northeast Louisiana alum. Follow me on Twitter @parrishalford and listen to John Davis and myself daily with The Ole Miss Beat on Rebel Sports Radio.

Posted in Basketball

Parrish’s Twitter Feed

Meet the Writers

JD and Parrish

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other subscribers