M Club Hall of Fame class

Chucky Mullins will be the most recognized name, but the M Club Hall of Fame 2014 class, announced today by Ole Miss, has a real Northeast Mississippi feel about it with two of the six members being former area high school athletes.

Armintie Price, now Armintie Price-Herrington, starred in basketball and track at Myrtle before an All-America basketball career at Ole Miss and now a WNBA career.

Price was a two-time SEC Defensive Player of the Year and led Ole Miss to the NCAA Tournament Elite Eight as a senior in 2007.

Burney Hutchinson starred in baseball at Tupelo High School before moving on to Ole Miss.

Hutchinson was a four-year letterman, a two-time All-SEC outfielder and in 2001 became the first All-American of the Mike Bianco Era.

In addition to Mullins, other inductees Julie Link-Clark (1983-86) for volleyball, Chip Sullivan (1984-86) for golf, Ken Lucas (1997-2000) for football.

The M Club will also recognize Larry Johnson (football, 1961-63) as the Lotterhos Service Award recipient.

Mullins played football in 1989 when he sustained a paralyzing spinal injury. He died from complications in May of 1991. His struggle has remained a source of inspiration for Ole Miss athletics.

The class will be honored the weekend of Sept. 26-27 when Coliseum Drive will be renamed “Chucky Mullins Drive.”

Here’s the complete class.

Denham Springs, La., native, Mississippian since 1989 with a stop in Meridian before arriving in Tupelo. Daily Journal beat writer since 1996, covering Ole Miss since 2002. Proud Northeast Louisiana alum. Follow me on Twitter @parrishalford and listen to John Davis and myself daily with The Ole Miss Beat on Rebel Sports Radio.

Posted in Athletics

Parrish’s Twitter Feed

Meet the Writers

JD and Parrish

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other subscribers