Staff stability a trademark of Freeze’s first four seasons

When Ole Miss historians stroll down memory lane invariably the absence of great turnover on John Vaught’s staff is a topic.

After four complete seasons Hugh Freeze has had very little turnover on his staff.

Wesley McGriff left to take an NFL job after the first season. He was replaced with Jason Jones. Tom Allen left to become coordinator at South Florida, and Freeze promoted Corey Batoon, an administrative coach, to coach safeties.

That’s the only staff transition Freeze has dealt with.

Since he’s been hired there have been 36 new coordinators named in the SEC. Not all of them have been because in individual coordinator was fired. Some of the new hires have been because new head coaches were hired, and there was complete or near complete turnover on a given staff from the year before.

From an ESPN, a good read on the Ole Miss stability provided with the same coordinators.

It’s possible I’ve missed someone. There’s certainly precedent for that, but here’s a list compiled through various media accounts.

Thirty-six new coordinators between the time Freeze was hired in December of 2011 and the 2015 season. This does not include Freeze’s hires, Dan Werner and Dave Wommack.



14 new hires

Auburn DC Will Muschamp

Arkansas OC Dan Enos

Florida OC Doug Nussmeier

Florida DC Geoff Collins

Georgia OC Brian Schottenheimer

Kentucky OC Shannon Dawson

LSU DC Kevin Steele

MSU DC Manny Diaz

Missouri DC Barry Odom

South Carolina co-DC Jon Hoke

Tennessee OC Mike DeBord

Texas A&M DC John Chavis

Vanderbilt OC Andy Ludwig

Vanderbilt DC (and HC) Derek Mason


2014 coordinators

7 new hires 

Alabama OC Lane Kiffin

Arkansas DC Robb Smith

Florida OC Kurt Roper

Georgia DC Jeremy Pruitt

Texas A&M Marcel Yates co-DC

Vanderbilt DC David Kotulski

Vanderbilt OC Karl Dorrell


2013 coordinators

15 new hires

LSU OC Cam Cameron

Texas A&M co-OC Jake Spavital

A&M co-OC Clarence McKinney

Florida DC DJ Durkin

Arkansas OC Jim Chaney

Arkansas DC Chris Ash

Auburn co-OC Rhett Lashlee

Auburn co-OC Dameyune Craig

Auburn DC Ellis Johnson

Missouri OC Josh Henson

MSU DC Geoff Collins

Tennessee OC Mike Bajakian

Tennessee DC John Jancek

Kentucky OC Neal Brown

Kentucky DC DJ Eliot

Denham Springs, La., native, Mississippian since 1989 with a stop in Meridian before arriving in Tupelo. Daily Journal beat writer since 1996, covering Ole Miss since 2002. Proud Northeast Louisiana alum. Follow me on Twitter @parrishalford and listen to John Davis and myself daily with The Ole Miss Beat on Rebel Sports Radio.

Posted in Football Tagged with: , ,

Parrish’s Twitter Feed

Meet the Writers

JD and Parrish

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other subscribers