Moody repeats as Howell winner

Stefan Moody was named the Howell Trophy winner today, only the second back-to-back winner in the award’s history.

Former Mississippi State center Jarvis Varnado was the other winning in 2009 and 2010.

Moody leads the SEC in scoring at 23.1 points a game. He only scored 12 at Tennessee, but he only two five shots. Moody was 3-for-5 from the floor, all from 3-point range, content to feed teammate Sebastian Saiz, who had 23 points and 11 rebounds.

MSU sophomore Victoria Vivians won the Gillom Trophy on the women’s side. She is also a repeat winner.

Denham Springs, La., native, Mississippian since 1989 with a stop in Meridian before arriving in Tupelo. Daily Journal beat writer since 1996, covering Ole Miss since 2002. Proud Northeast Louisiana alum. Follow me on Twitter @parrishalford and listen to John Davis and myself daily with The Ole Miss Beat on Rebel Sports Radio.

Posted in Basketball

Parrish’s Twitter Feed

Meet the Writers

JD and Parrish

Want Email Updates? Warning... We Update Often

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other subscribers