LCN 4-H Group 2.13

Nine Lee County 4-H’ers were presented the Congressional Medal in a state ceremony Jan. 20 at the Capitol in Jackson.

The Congressional Award is the only award that the United States Congress presents to young Americans and was signed into law by the U.S. Congress in 1979. Youth ages 14-24 set and achieve goals in community service, personal development, physical fitness, and expedition or exploration. Upon completion of their hours students are eligible to receive the Bronze, Silver or Gold Medal. Congress passed an additional law in 1981, which allowed for the medals to be struck at the U.S. Mint.

Dr. Robert Foglesong, president of Mississippi State University and retired four-star general, was the key-note speaker for the event. He, along with State Legislators, and Dr. Vance Watson, Vice-President, Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine, presented the medals. Dr. Linda Mitchell, appointed to the Congressional Award National Board of Directors by Senator Lott and currently serving as its Vice-Chairman, recognized the work of the individual youth as she read bios for each one.

Kaylee Keith, state 4-H President; Chelsi Smith, state 4-H Secretary, and Billy Hudson, Bronze Medalist served as emcees. Maury Giachelli led the Pledge of Allegiance. Zack Moody and Holly Webb provided entertainment A reception in honor of the recipients took place following the ceremony.

Lee Countians receiving Congressional Medals were:

n Bronze medalists Amy Brown, Nick Holder, Jeremy Hopper

n Silver medalists Daniel Clark, Taylor Ethridge, RaKel Gibson, Jill Merritt, Leah Beth Potts and Rett Swann

If you would like more information about the Congressional Award Program please contact Beth Randall, 4-H Youth Agent at 841-9000 or Dr. Linda Mitchell at 662-539-1733.

Click video to hear audio