County municipalities gear up for 2013 elections

Candidates began the qualifying process in Amory Jan. 2 for the 2013 municipal elections for the offices of mayor, aldermen, alderman-at-large and chief of police.
So far, potential candidates include Tommy Wilkerson and Brad Blalock for mayor, incumbent Ronnie Bowen and Tony Coxey for chief of police, incumbent Bill Lyle thfor Ward 4 alderman and incumbent Buddy Carlisle for Ward 1 alderman.
The deadline to qualify as a candidate is 5 p.m. on Friday, March 8.
Primary elections will be held Tuesday, May 7 and municipal elections will be held on Tuesday, June 4. Newly elected candidates will be sworn in on July 1.
The voter registration deadline for primary elections is noon on Saturday, April 6 and the deadline to register for general elections is on Saturday, May 4. The municipal clerk’s office will be open from 8 a.m. until 12 p.m. on both of these days.
Smithville and Gattman will also hold general elections June 4 for the mayor and aldermen-at-large seats. The deadline for candidates to qualify is March 8 at 5 p.m. and the deadline to register to vote is May 4.
For more information in the Smithville election, please call 651-4411 and for more information for the Gattman election, please call 257-1003.