Incumbents qualified in Myrtle elections

To date, each member of the board of aldermen in Myrtle, as well as the mayor, have qualified to run in the spring elections.

Myrtle Mayor Joe M. Rials, as well as Aldermen Joseph Graham, Jeanette Thomas, Carolyn McCuiston and Fleurette Ausburn, have all qualified with the town clerk to run for re-elections as independents.

All aldermen positions in Myrtle are At-Large, as Myrtle does not have wards.

As of press time, none of the incumbents had any challengers in the races.

Like New Albany, citizens of Myrtle who wish to run for these posts have until March 6 to qualify.

The village of Blue Springs will also hold elections this spring for its mayor and board of aldermen posts.  As of press time, the New Albany Gazette had received no word of qualified candidates.

In New Albany, as of press time, there had been no new qualifiers in city elections since last week.  Currently, Mayor Tim Kent will face Betsey Hamilton and Joey Robbins, Alderman-at-Large Dan Skinner will face Daniel Frain, Ward One Alderman is running unopposed, Ward Two Alderman Larry Sanford will face Keith Ball and Johnny Anderson, Ward Three Alderman Tommie Beasley will face Chris Buford and Larry Dykes and Ward Four Alderman will face J. Pullman.

Besides Olson, New Albany Police Chief David Grisham is the only other incumbent to remain unopposed in the upcoming race.

According to Municipal Election information released by the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office, in order for a person to be a candidate for his/her party’s nomination in a municipal election he/she must:

1) Pay a filing fee of $10 to the Municipal Clerk by 5 p.m. on March 6, 2009.

2) Submit  the Municipal Clerk a written Statement of Intent containing the name and address of the candidate, the name of the party with which the candidate is affiliated and the office the candidate is seeking.

In order for a person to be an independent candidate in a municipal general election, he/she must file a petition with the Municipal Clerk by 5 p.m. on March 6, 2009.  The petition must be signed by at least 50 qualified voters of a municipality or ward, if the municipality or ward has a population of 1,000 residents or more.  The petition must be signed by at least 15 qualified voters if the municipality or ward has a population of less than 1,000 residents.