Union County courthouse turns 101

The Union County courthouse  celebrates its 101st anniversary of the laying of the cornerstone on September 5th. The contractor was F. M. Dobson of Montgomery, Ala. and the building was accepted by the Board of Supervisors in June 1909.

Early records indicate that in 1872 or 1873 was when the county’s first courthouse and jail were built and there was a north and south side wing. The courthouse was two stories tall and built out of brick. The contractors were Crockett and Hogue.

In the north wing, the first floor housed a printing office for the newspaper in New Albany at the time, which was unique because housing a private business within a courthouse was rare at that time. 

The courthouse was destroyed by fire on October 28, 1881, which ended up also destroying all of the county records that had been stored there since 1870.

However, a new building was erected in 1882 by the Meridian contracting company of Zukor and Co., but was torn down around 1908 because its size was too small for the county’s needs.