Football ‘Dawgs earn All-Division honors

After a historic 13-1 season and a division championship, New Albany named 20 players to the Division 1-4A All-Division team, announced this week.

Kareem Brown led the way, earning division “Player of the Year” honors. The senior standout was a threat in all areas, finishing with 589 rushing yards, 748 receiving yards, 62 tackles, three interceptions and 223 yards in kickoff returns. Brown also led the team in touchdowns with 19.

Earning “Co-Offensive Player of the Year” honors was Tyler Basil. The senior quarterback threw for 2,388 yards and 29 touchdowns, while completing 55.6 percent of his passes (135 for 243). Basil shares the honor with Itawamba quarterback Mikhail Miller.

The Bulldogs placed nine on the first team, five on second and four honorable mentions. Also, head coach Ron Price and his staff earned “Coaching Staff of the Year” honors after guiding New Albany in one of their best seasons in school history. Below are all of New Albany's honorees.

Division 1-4A Player of the Year- Kareem Brown

Co-Offensive Player of the Year- Tyler Basil

Coaching Staff of the Year- New Albany (Ron Price, Bob Monroe, Rolandus Cox, Jalon Bullock, Robert Garrett, Josh Davis, Jay Cossey, Cody Stubblefield, Micheal Kelly)

First Team All-Division- Collin Stubblefield (OL), Taylor Goode (WR), Kelvin Worship (RB), Luke Foley (TE), Sam Jackson Dunnam (Kicker), Shawn Smith (DL), Riley Alef (LB), Zach Hand (LB) and Josh Creekmore (DB).

Second Team All-Division- Cade Simmons (OL), Austin Howard (DL), Shane Smith (DL), Dalvin Carr (DB) and Reggie Webb (DB)

Honorable Mention- Wade Simmons, Mario Waldrop, Devonte Bradley and Boston Newsome