Olson wins; Dykes, White in runoff; Medlin, Tucker face off in Ward 4

Jeff Olson was re-elected Ward One Alderman Tuesday, but New Albany residents in Wards 3 and 4 will go to the polls one more to choose their  representatives on the city’s Board of Aldermen.

In Ward 3, Larry Dykes and Kevin Dale White will meet in a Democratic Primary runoff, set for May 21.
Meanwhile, Ward 4 incumbent Will Tucker will face challenger Terry Medlin in the city  general election, set for June 4.
Dykes and White were among five candidates for the Ward 3 seat.  White led the crowd during Tuesday’s Democratic primary with 157 votes, or 35 percent, while Dykes gathered just five votes fewer, 152, or 34 percent.
Chris Buford placed third in the five-person race with 106 votes, or 23 percent of the vote.  Meanwhile, Gayle Gibson received 29 votes, or 6 percent and Jimmy Jackson received nine votes, or 2 percent.
The winner of the May 21 runoff will take the seat of longtime alderman Tommie Beasley, who decided not to seek re-election.
In Ward 4, Medlin received 316 votes, or 53 percent, in the Democratic primary to defeat Samantha Morris’ 275 votes, or 46 percent.
Tucker won the Republican primary with 95 votes, or 90 percent, compared to 10 votes, or nine percent, for challenger Rick Lindley.
According to city officials, this is the first municipal race in a very long while that will go to the general election, due to the fact that all candidates have historically run as Democrats.
In Ward 1, Olson will serve a third term, defeating challenger Daniel Frain.  Olson received 319 votes, or 74 percent, compared to 111 votes, or 26 percent, for Frain.
In the final two aldermen races, Ward 2 and Alderman At-Large, the Incumbents Johnny Anderson and Scott Dunnam ran unopposed and won their races handily, though a handful of write-in votes were cast in each race.