Farm Service Agency announces county committee election

The Union County Farm Service Agency announces that the election for County Committee member from Local Administrative Area 2 has begun. Landowners and producers of agricultural products may nominate a producer from LAA-2 to serve a 3-year term on the COC, the nomination period started June17 and ends Aug. 1.

LAA-2 includes Ingomar, Bald Hill, Martintown, Blue Springs, Wallerville, New Harmony, Union Hill and Sherman communities.

After nominations are complete election ballots will be mailed on Nov. 4 to all landowners and agricultural producers in LAA-2 to vote their choice of who will represent them on the COC.

Marked election ballots must be received back in the’ FSA office by Dec. 2 and will be counted at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, Dec. 5. The newly elected COC member will assume duties on Jan. 1, 2014.