Kappa Kappa Iota

Sigma Chapter of Kappa Kappa Iota met in the home of Mary Webb on Monday, April 21, at 5:30 p.m.  Jenetta Waddell served as co-hostess.

Sixteen members dined on sandwiches, pasta salad and cake.

Ninabeth Capaning recognized Earth Day and emphasized how important it is to take care of our earth.  Quotes from Henry David Thoreau and Jane Goodall were shared.  A prayer for the well-being of the planet and how we need to bless the earth ended the devotional.

President Craig introduced the program speaker, Jan Eastman.  Eastman is a Kappa member who presented a visual program entitled “Russia from the Volga River.”  She and a few friends embarked on a riverboat cruise which took them from Moscow to St. Petersburg, with stops along the way.  They also saw quaint villages, which had many interesting markets, and other points of interest. Some of these interesting points were Red Square, the Hermitage, St. Basil’s Cathedral and Gum Department Store.  Other fascinating sites were the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and Cathedral Square.  Some of their famous tsars are buried there.  Eastman showed pictures of monuments of former Soviet leaders such as Khrushchev and Yeltsin. Everyone said they enjoyed the journey of a country with an interesting past.

Lanta Craig opened the business session by asking for the reading of the March meeting minutes.  She asked for committee reports.  Eastman reported that she sent the philanthropic report to the state philanthropic chairperson.  Anita Buster gave the treasurer’s report.  Buster also reported that local scholarships had been given.

Silvia Thompson announced that three Blue Mountain Campus Kappas would attend the state convention in Corinth.  Thompson also announced that $30 had been collected for luminaries that will be placed in honor or memory of someone at Relay for Life on May 16, in New Albany.  Any Kappa member who wants to donate may do so.  Karen Tuck, scrapbook chairperson, will take the chapter scrapbook to the state convention.  Buster recognized Thompson who will be installed as Mu State President at the state convention.  Marjorie Livingston reported the nominations for 2014-2015 chapter officers.  They are: Ninabeth Capaning – president; Jenetta Waddell – president-elect; Jane Hubbard – first vice-president; Karen Tuck – second vice-president; Sara Stephens – third vice-president; secretary – Nancy Meacham; treasurer – Anita Buster and Lanta Craig – immediate past president. Craig said that the 2013-2014 Mu State Kappa president, Jerri Jackson, was to attend the May meeting.  She was to install the officers and initiate the newest members.  There being no further business, Craig adjourned the meeting.