44 Miss. counties disaster areas due to drought

By The Associated Press

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — The federal government has designated 44 Mississippi counties as disaster areas due a drought from May to December.

U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack says in a news release that farmers in those counties qualify for natural disaster assistance.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months to apply for loans to help cover part of their losses.

Vilsack says the dry condition caused significant losses to corn, soybeans and other crops.


Online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.