6 Mississippi counties get drought help

By The Associated Press

JACKSON — The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Marshall County as primary natural disaster area due to the summer drought.

USDA on Wednesday also said farmers and ranchers counties that adjoin the primary disaster areas are also eligible for assistance.

The contiguous counties where aid is also available are Benton, DeSoto, Lafayette, Tate and Union.

Producers in the affected areas can qualify for low-interest government loans.

Click video to hear audio