Affidavit votes don't change Booneville results

Daily Journal report

BOONEVILLE – Final vote totals were certified Wednesday after 52 affadavit ballots were reviewed, with 18 of them being disqualified, said City Clerk Glennice George.

None of the previously reported outcomes changed in the Democratic primary, and all candidates will go on to meet Republican opponents in the June 7 general election.

Mayor Wayne Michael defeated challenger Joe Eaton, 1241-1192. His opponent in the general election will be Republican Roger Smith.

Two incumbent aldermen will go on to the general election: Bobby Goddard with 1007 votes and David West, with 1108 votes. Aldermen Harold Eaton, with 832 votes, and Groves Shinault Sr., with 942 votes, did not survive the runoff.

Other Democrats winning slots on the next ballot are David Bolen and Mitch Barrett. Bolen, a two-term alderman who ran for mayor four years ago, was the highest vote-getter in the runoff with 1,333 votes. Barrett with 952 votes also served two terms as alderman.

Rounding out the group of candidates on the Democratic ticket in the general election is Betty Ann Livingston, with 1,084 votes.

Other vote totals in the runoff are Harold Hopkins, 776 votes; David Horn, 868 votes and Mark McCoy, 755 votes.

Republican candidates for alderman in the general election are James J. Downs, Patrick Eaton, Keith Fugitt, Dwayne Pollard and Gary Wright.

Click video to hear audio