Barbour: Counties added for federal disaster aid

JACKSON — Gov. Haley Barbour says residents in 18 counties affected by severe storms, flooding and tornadoes last month are now eligible for federal disaster assistance.

Barbour said Monday that Federal Emergency Management Agency Administrator Craig Fugate approved adding the counties affected by the April 15-28 severe weather, bringing the total number eligible for help to 29.

The new counties are: Alcorn, Attala, Clay, Coahoma, DeSoto, Grenada, Holmes, Leflore, Marshall, Montgomery, Newton, Panola, Quitman, Smith, Sunflower, Tishomingo, Tunica and Winston. Counties already eligible include: Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clarke, Greene, Hinds, Jasper, Kemper, Lafayette, Monroe, Neshoba and Webster.

Residents may register with FEMA online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362)

Grants can help pay for rental housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.

The Associated Press

Click video to hear audio