Belle elected mayor in Aberdeen runoff

By Monroe Journal

ABERDEEN – Former Aberdeen mayor Cecil S. Belle won the runoff election for mayor in Aberdeen. He defeated Maurice Howard with roughly 62 percent of the votes, or 1,091 votes, to Howard’s 680 votes.
In the aldermen races, Wilchie Clay narrowly defeated Cloyd Garth in Ward 2. In Ward 3, Sammy L. Burroughs prevailed over David Ewing Jr., and Dean Irvin defeated Brunson Odom in Ward 4.
There were 1,773 votes cast. According to one election official, turnout was hampered by the rain.
The new mayor and aldermen will be sworn in on May 1 at 3:30 p.m. at City Hall.
Belle served as mayor of Aberdeen from 2004 to 2008 and has served on several boards, including the Monroe County Chamber of Commerce and the Aberdeen Planning and Zoning Commission.

Click video to hear audio